We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oberstdorfer Dampfbierbrauerei

Oberstdorfer Dampfbierbrauerei
Bahnhofplatz 8, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
+49 8322 8908
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 80 restaurants in Oberstdorf
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good vibe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Popular restaurant with it's own micro brewery. The beer is very much in demand here and our group enjoyed it immensely. Staff are very helpful. English menu and no language barrier problems. Slightly more expensive than other places in Oberstdorf but you will be very well looked after. Live music which everyone seemed to be enjoying. Massive portions and very good food. The waitress even brought out extra chips for us all. You will have no room for dessert! You will have a good evening here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    21
    27
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food & Beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here a few evenings Apre Ski for Beer and a snack. Couldn't get a table in the evening because it was booked out! 31 Euro for 5 litres of home made beer! Good buzz in the bar the Saturday evening we called into it. Recommend it for some food and beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Popular, many people, but really nice. Not cheap. There own beer is great as well, music, traditional Bayern.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Often crowded - but good if you can get in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

They have live music here on most nights, brew their own beer and have an extensive Bavaria menu, so it is a popular place.
We tried to get a table on a few nights and the place was just full.
When we did get in, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
The service was good and the food excellent. We tried there
Pork Medallions
Turkey in a stroganoff style sauce
Slices of deer (bit like roast beef but deer and not an ounce of fat to be seen)
Mixed Medallions (pork/beef/turkey)

Although we were happy to use a German menu, they did do an English one.
Think you can reserve a table so may be worthwhile for the busier nights or bigger groups. We got in on a Sunday and it was packed on Tues/Wed/Thirs/Fri and Sat!!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"brilliant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

went with group of friends lovely meal friendly staff few beers not expensive good music

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oberstdorfer Dampfbierbrauerei also viewed

 
Oberstdorf, Swabia
Oberstdorf, Swabia
 

Been to Oberstdorfer Dampfbierbrauerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oberstdorfer Dampfbierbrauerei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.