We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuisine and standards have dropped - avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa to your Saves list
Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ludwigstr. 37 - 41a, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Oberstdorf
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cuisine and standards have dropped - avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for the first time in this hotel in May 2009. At the time, the restaurant meals were of a very good standard, and the hotel owner went from table to table in the evening to check if everything was to his guests' liking, and listened to suggestions for improvement. We stayed 10 days, enjoyed our stay very much, and another guest at a nearby table commented that the hotel was near to perfection.

We had the opportunity to go back recently, 3 years later, and our opinion of the hotel could not have changed more radically : we would now not consider coming again and could not recommend it at all.

Although the breakfast buffet is still adequate, the evening meals are to be avoided at all costs. Some vegetarian dishes had what were visibly reheated leftovers, instead of freshly cooked fresh vegetables. This was particularly shameful when it occurred on a gala night evening, after a similar vegetarian dish had been properly prepared another evening. Another time, a dish with wok vegetables and noodles was laced with old carrot and courgette bits, that were no longer whole, and which I lined up on the periphery of the plate to illustrate the problem. Three meat dishes were inedible, too tough to chew. The waiters were on the whole less friendly than 3 years ago, and menu choices were too often incorrectly served.

After we had an especially bad evening meal, we complained to the owner, and the next day we finally had a good evening meal, but it was the only one. The day after, we had two especially ghastly meals. On departure, we spoke to the hotel owner, again mentioning the poor meals, and he had the audacity to say that he hopes that nevertheless we will come back! We repeated that the cuisine standards have dropped, that it is bad enough to endure several bad meals, and that having to pay for such meals is even worse. He did not offer to refund the sub standard meals, which should have been a minimum gesture on his part.

The common areas are a bit dated and would need upgrading. The hotel entrance has several wide stone steps to negotiate, and the poor porter still has to overcome these with guests' luggage on a trolley. My suggestion of an underground car park was noted 3 years ago, but nothing has happened since. Indeed, this time the owner no longer toured the tables in the restaurant and seems to have lost interest in pleasing his guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schueles, Inhaber at Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guests,

We say thank you very much for your review. To the same time we find that it is a shame that you did not enjoy our evening meals. Especially our cuisine gets always high points from our guests on different review sites. We attach importance to first-class, regional products and especially to a mild preparation. In addition we offer a grand variety of diet forms.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay like the last time. We hope we can welcome you back one time as our guests.

Yours family Schüle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
11
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great hotel 10 mins walk from the centre of town. Wonderful breakfast and spacious rooms with fantastic views across to the mountains. Service is first class with as many wasabi nuts as you can eat at the bar - free!
Beware going into the sauna and plunge pool with swimming shorts on as you may get a few odd looks as this is a proper bavarian sauna experience where you're expected to get naked. Nothing to worry about as long as you're not too self conscious and shy!
Waitresses and reception staff all wear beautiful Allgau dresses which really sets the scene. A great stay and I would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schueles, Inhaber at Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Schüle’s Gesundheitsresort & Spa. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Greetings from Oberstdorf!

Yours family Schüle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It came as no surprise to find this hotel started life as a hospice as today's guests seemed very elderly to my wife and I-and we're in our sixties.Public areas are very old fashioned and dated.The spa area however is excellent and we enjoyed very professional massages.Bedrooms have been updated and are large(ours was comfort 42 sq m) spotlessly clean and well maitained.Free wifi.
The restaurant was very disappointing.Dinner service started at 6 and by the time we went in at 7.30 ish most guests had gone.Mind you,it wasn't a place to hang around as the food was distinctly average.
Overall,not cheap at 325 euros per room per night half board and if you have any life in you,not to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schueles, Inhaber at Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay in June. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our large spa area, the wellness treatments and the facilities of your room.

Schüle’s Gesundheitsresort & Spa is a hotel for healthy recreation. For us healthiness is not a question of age - anybody if young or old can do something for its own healthy.
However we hope you enjoyed your stay in Oberstdorf.

Yours family Schüle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The room could be very small, depending the category picked. Great location. Pick a room not facing the road for a breathtakingly scenic view. Unlike the other hotels, there is no transportation provided.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schueles, Inhaber at Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your four points and the nice review you wrote about your stay in December. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. All rooms offer a nice view but as you mentioned the rooms to the south provide a fantastic panorama view over the meadows and the Allgäu Alps.

We do not provide transportation, but our front desk is more than happy to arrange cabs or shuttle buses for you. Furthermore there is a bus station just a stone’s throw away from the hotel.

We are pleased to welcome you back in Oberstdorf.
Greetings to Louisiana!

Yours family Schüle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

It is a very good hotel in general. Let's start with the room. I had a standart SGL, but it was surprisingly big and bright with nice bed. TV had a very few channels none of which were in English. There was a great balcony with a nice veiw of the mountais. The closet space was soooo massive you can fit an elephant in it! The only strange thing was a catholic cross on the wall. If you are not catholic, or don't believe in God, it will give you bad feelings seeing it all the time when you pass it by.

On reception there are English speaking staff, but there are no staff at all who speaks English in Spa area. That was not a big problem, but sometimes it would be easier if they were.

The hotel area is massive so it was possible to get lost. The dining room was impressivly big, the food was great, interesting and something different to the typical Bavarian food.

The location was not great for me, but if you like good long walks, it is perfect, because the hotel is about 2 km from city center, which was good for the look out of the window.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schueles, Inhaber at Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you very much for your nice review of your stay. For us it’s very important that our guests feel welcome and that they enjoy all comfort they need – starting with a grand room, a spacious wellness area for quite hours and relaxation and a healthy cuisine. It’s nice to read that you enjoyed all amenities of the hotel during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again at the Schüle’s Gesundheitsresort & Spa in Oberstdorf!

Yours family Schüle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa

Address: Ludwigstr. 37 - 41a, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Oberstdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schüle's Gesundheitsresort & Spa is blessed with a wonderful location in the southern outskirts of Oberstdorf, offering an incomparable view of the mountain scenery. Since 1930, this hotel has been among the most traditional establishments in town and is the ideal place to get away from it all.The property has been awarded for its wellness treatments and assistance provided by two medical specialists and several therapists. Enjoy a stay in stylish surroundings and profit from the excellent service which will set this experience apart from any other.The tastefully furnished rooms are appointed with bathtub or shower, toilet, hair-dryer, telephone, fax and wireless internet connection, radio, satellite TV and safe. Some of the rooms are also equipped with fridge and balcony with great panoramic views.Schüle’s restaurant serves some of the best dishes and wines. The restaurant provides high quality products, healthy cooking, creative recipes and different diet menus.Recover and relax in the 2.200 m² wellness area with a comprising panorama indoor swimming pool, salt grotto, tepidarium, aroma grotto, Finnish and bio sauna, steam bath and a lot more. Bath like the emperors in the copper bathtub in the superbly decorated room or relax during a cosmetic treatment, based on aesthetic oils.Stay fit with Schüle’s free active program – a range of fitness and outdoor activities like yoga, reiki, gymnastic and guided hikes. Furthermore the hotel organizes regular chamber concerts, folk music evenings and author readings to make your stay even more pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.