We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still worth the trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Fromages de l'Isle d'Orleans

Les Fromages de l'Isle d'Orleans
4696, Chemin Royal, Sainte-Famille, Quebec G0A 3P0, Canada
418 829-0177
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Southold, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“still worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When exploring the Isle D'Orleans we stopped here...I wouldn't plan the whole trip around it. A bit disappointing....not much to see or try. However it is a wonderful destination if you want to see a lot of the island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cheese = Bonheur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of many stops we made on the island of Orleans. We went for the Medium Cheddar Charlevoix. It was excellent when paired with strawberries and bread we bought from other locations on the island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not very freindly for small group!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were very excited to put the artisant cheese crafter on our program but they did not really want us to get the guided tour since we were only 12 people... They told us that they were very busy people and small group are too much work!!! They of course let us know that we could still do it if we paid the 20 persons fee! or just stop by the store to buy their cheese !!! we just waved from the road ...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not just a great cheese place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Don't think that this Island is just for Cheese. It has great art galleries, to suit all tastes, and some great food stands. Quebec has a reputation for great hot dog and the Island does not let you down. Try them.
Don't visit this area looking for exciing things to do, but do look for great scenery, great local arts and crafts and just a great feeling of the culture. Visit Old Quebec while here, as it is just a 10 minute drive away.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh local cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stopped by here and had the cheese plate sampler, which was a real treat. There was a piece of brie, a fresh ricotta-like cheese, a piece of haloumi-like fried cheese, and a wedge of mild, medium and sharp cheese, plus crackers. My husband and I each got a cheese sample and bought a bagette to go with it. It was a LOT of cheese but we had skipped lunch. There is a pleasant seating area in the back with tables and a great selection of locally made jams, syrups, mustards, and of course cheese in the shop.

This is a must-see for anyone visiting l'Ile d'Orleans. It is a charming local business creating traditional, high-quality cheese. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Fromages de l'Isle d'Orleans also viewed

Sainte-Famille, Ile d'Orleans
 
Saint Pierre d'Orleans, Ile d'Orleans
 

Been to Les Fromages de l'Isle d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Fromages de l'Isle d'Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.