We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to Learn Here about Airships” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zeppelin Museum

Zeppelin Museum
Seestrasse 22, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
+49 7541 38010
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zeppelin Museum Friedrichshafen has been completely renovated and is shining in new splendour since June 2014. In keeping with our museum concept "Technology and Art", visitors can see for themselves how closely these two areas are related. Regular temporary exhibitions and other events such as guided tours, lectures, films, art discussions, promotion days or a birthday in the museum round off the cultural education programme for interested visitors (from five years of age).
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lots to Learn Here about Airships”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

When we were on the south shore of Lake Constance, Bodensee, we thought we saw an airship in the air. So we did some investigating and found this amazing museum in Friedrichshafen. There are enough English explanations to make it interesting to those of us who don't speak German, and there are plenty of activities/explanations for children. It's perfect for the whole family.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    100
    45
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fascinating introduction to these amazing airships”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was a fascinating, well laid out museum that gave a very good idea indeed about these remarkable machines. The introductory film was interesting and helpful despite being in German and without subtitles. It was largely comprehensible to a poor German speaker so I would not skip it even with no German. If I had a complaint there was selective use of English explanations for exhibits. Where they were there they were very good and it was a shame that there were not more. Recommended

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were not sure what to expect, but as the weather was very wet outside this looked a good bet. Not disappointed. It was a very enjoyable and informative visit. Whilst not all the captions had an English translation. Enough did, so you could understand the displays. Highlight is a walk through a mock up of the passenger area of the Hindenburg. Although a bit tight for room this was a great insight into this craft.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stopped here for the museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to Friedrichshafen to take our 7 yr old to this museum. Luckily we encountered a lovely english-speaking staff member in the first section of the museum. She pointed out the special symbol for children's activities/material and explained that we would see this symbol throughout the museum. We returned to the entrance to obtain the children's cardboard suitcase so our son could take advantage of this component. It would be great if this was offered at the ticket desk to everyone who buys a family ticket because it definitely enhanced our son's visit and we would have missed it if we hadn't spoken to a staff member. We enjoyed the museum and found the information to be attractively displayed. It would be even better if more of the info was in English for children. As it was, some of the explanations I gave to my son were likely inaccurate. When we were at the castle in Meersburg, we liked the one-page information sheet that provided info in English. Various displays were numbered and we could consult the corresponding number on the sheet for a succinct description in English.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A truly unique museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Located in the town of the zeppelin's origin, this museum traces the history of airships, with special attention given to the Hindenburg and its fateful last trip. The full scale mockup of most of the passenger section of that airship which visitors can walk through is especially fascinating. Near the end of the airship story (the exhibit is presented chronologically) one learns how much a part of the town's economy the Hindenberg Foundation has become. On the top floor is an art collection with many items dating back hundreds of years.
This museum is spacious and an interesting stop in downtown Friedrichshafen. It does have a restaurant inside, but unfortunately it was closed on our Monday visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeppelin Museum also viewed

Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zeppelin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeppelin Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.