We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karlstrasse 43, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

We were staying about 20kms away from Friedricshafen but we needed to have one night in town before catching a train to Geneva the next morning. I had spied this hotel on my visit earlier in the week and loved the exterior colour, the beautiful window boxes, cafe tables and umbrellas. It appealed to me straight away and all the more so because it was very centrally located on the main shopping street which is one back from the waterfront.
The staff were very plesant, the rooms large and airy with a good sized bathroom. Wireless internet was available in a common area on the first floor. The staircases to each floor spiralled up and were very narrow. Our luggage only just made it around the corners. Our room overlooked the street below and the restaurant tables. We had two large fully openable windows, this was great to watch the world pass by down below.
There was an excellent selection of pastries, bread, fruit, cereal, juices, eggs and meats for breakfast.
Located 5 minutes from the rail station, 2 minutes from the port and right in the heart of the waterfront cafe's and restaurants this hotel would be an ideal base.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — The narrow spiral staircase
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    22
    16
    11
See reviews for
9
31
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

Read previous reveiews and thought we'd give it a try. Rooms were large, and just a short walk to the Bodensee. Room was across the street from the main building but was a bit quieter than the main building. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and lots of variety. Free internet usage (computer in main building). Reasonable priced too! Would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Large rooms, great locaton, helpful staff
  • Disliked — No view of lake
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

Friendly staff. Quick walk from the ferry and train station. Upon checking in, was told that room was behind the hotel in another building. Sounded strange at first, but when got to room, was well impressed. Top floor, full "greenhouse" windows, automated blinds, open loft concept. Breakfast was included in the morning, and was very good. Tried to add on a few charges when checking out, such as parking when we had no vehicle and drinks at the restaurant when we had none, but they quickly fixed this when we said they were wrong, no problems.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2004

Just returned from a short break here. Flew with Ryanair to a town we knew nothing about, apart from there was a Christmas Market.

The hotel is in the pedestrian centre of the town, 3 minutes walk from the Zeppelin Museum and lakeside. The hotel does not have a lounge as such, and the bar is a separate establishment next door. If you wanted a gym and sauna they are shared in another hotel.

The restaurant does a great breakfast but we did not eat there in the evening. The room was very large and minimalist - stylish and comfortable. There was a minibar and fresh tea/coffee were free if you collected it on a tray from reception to take to your room. Allergy sufferers had a choice of pillows. The hotel has a room where you could enjoy free internet access.

The staff were superb and the hotel very clean. Don`t leave your windows open on Saturday night as the Sunday morning church bells were very early!

The town is almost all post-war but is clean, quiet and friendly. We ate in the Keller 3 minutes walk from the hotel and found it full of locals with fantastic local dishes.

We would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2004

An excellent Hotel in an ideal position for city centre, zeppelin museum and passenger ships.
All staff very helpful and efficient.
So far this year we have been to other excellent hotels in Madeira and Paris but they were not as good as this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad

Address: Karlstrasse 43, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Goldenes Rad
Best Western Friedrichshafen
Friedrichshafen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.