We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly mid-sized hotel in fair location, but room is cold and sterile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
Promenadenstrasse 3, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Friendly mid-sized hotel in fair location, but room is cold and sterile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel Central is a no-frills lodging in a fairly good location, offering friendly service at competitive rates. However, its rooms, decorations notwithstanding, feel rather cold and soulless, and are not so clean.

The hotel occupies a historic building that is close to geographical center of the city as well as to ZOB (central bus station) and a taxi stand. It is also located in-between Bamberg Bahnhof (train station) and Altstadt (old city), and can provide a convenient base for exploring the city. This does not mean that it is at the center of all the action; it is at the edge of the UNESCO world heritage designated zone that contains virtually all the tourist attractions. For sightseeing, hotels near the famous Altes Rathaus and the Dom are even more convenient. As for the access to Bahnhof, it’s still a bit of a walk through some not-so-interesting neighborhoods. Proximity to good shopping is one strength, since nearby Grüner Markt and Lange Straße are full of interesting shops and bakeries.

The hotel façade looks atmospheric, staffs are friendly and accommodating, and breakfast is okay. The room, however, was below-average. Somehow, the color tones, furniture, and wall-hung pictures fail to create a sense of welcoming warmth and comfort, but feel more like an old hospital. Bathroom sanitation is below the usually high German standards; there are questionable colors on the toilet, along with mildew on the wall and the shower stall. The said shower stall is small and shower curtain hinders movement. Amenities are very basic, as to be expected from its low rates.

Hotel Central targets budget travelers looking for a good location to sleep in. In some aspects it satisfies what is expected, but unfortunately cleanliness and warm comfort are not among those. Depending on the guests’ requirements it could be a suitable choice; weigh your options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were looking for last minute budget accomodation in Bamberg and found this Hotel on Booking.com. It is consistently the second cheapest hotel in bamberg if you're looking to stay central and not in a neighboring town. We found that anything cheaper would only have saved us between 15 and 20 Australian dollars and was at least 10 kms away.

We werent expecting much considering the average night in bamberg cost about $150 but we were pleasantly surprised. The front reception were friendly, the room clean and spacey. We had a shared toilet but an internal shower which was different but didn't cause any issues.

Wi fi was poor in the room but usable in the corridor. The location was very central, as the name of the hotel suggests and made our one night in bamberg very enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is nicely located in Bamberg. My husband and I were able to walk to all of the area sites we wanted to visit and were close to great shopping. Internet was free and reliable. Breakfast was plenty and typical of the area. The staff were helpful. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings and watching the sun set over the city. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was small; but adequate. Finding the Hotel from the train station was pretty easy (if you read the map correctly..). It took about 20 minutes for us to walk. If you prefer a taxi, there are plenty. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel works well for budget travelers relying on public transport - a 20 minute walk from the train station, local sights & restaurants are within walking distance, bus station and taxi stand are outside the front door. We had a room with an attached bathroom (shower & toilet) - plenty of hot water early in the a.m. and after morning "rush" (warmish at 9 a.m. on a Sunday). We were next to the elevator and slept soundly - so no complaints about noise.

Breakfast bar was well stocked,

Friendly, competent staff who gave us excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was very pleased with Hotel Central in Bamberg. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was spacious and the wifi connection worked well. The breakfast buffet in the morning was a typical German breakfast which consisted mainly of bread rolls, meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, cereal, coffee, and tea. The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance from the train station. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

The reception area looks more like an youth hostel than an hotel - but the lady behind the reception was charming. The corridors as well reminded us of youth hostels, but the room was clean and the beds comfy. The breakfast was good - but the breakfast room was a bit too small - we had to wait in line to get a table. The price was good, the location great - you could easily drive up to the door - and the near by public parking was just 8 Euro.

Room Tip: Get up early if you don't want to wait in line for a table for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked our trip last minute and this was an inexpensive, central option.

The room we booked was one that had a shower in the room but the toilet was shared with other rooms. The quality of the room was good with a decent shower and a balcony. They had free wireless internet which is always a plus.

The downside was the walls are paper thin. You could absolutely hear the people in the room next to us. Unlucky for us, the guy next door decided to stay up talking until 4AM! I had a bad night's sleep because of it. If you walk down the hallway you can hear the people in every room who were making noise. I highly recommend you ask them to put you in a room away from the toilet. I imagine those people had much more noise than us.

The hotel is central. A nice 5 minute walk and you are in the old city of Bamberg. Although it is central, driving and parking there was easy. The hotel does not have a parking lot but the city has parking very close by. It was 8 euros for 24 hours.

The breakfast was a cold one but not bad. I was glad it was included for the price.

It was a good value. I marked the hotel down because I didn't sleep most of the night but I would consider it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Promenadenstrasse 3, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.