We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah architecture; worn carpet; some distance from train station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel garni Altenburgblick

Save Saved
You added Hotel garni Altenburgblick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Panzerleite 59, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
whitefish
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Blah architecture; worn carpet; some distance from train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

It's a pretty healthy hike from the train station as the hotel is across town. Taxi ride is expensive at 10 euro. Ugly concrete building with worn carpets. Rooms are just OK. Free wifi. Bath tub a plus. Great reception staff. Not far from good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Hotel garni Altenburgblick has parking which is such a plus in Bamberg which is a walled medieval city. We drove around and around trying to find parking since we arrived so early, but could not find any. We decided to go to the hotel, and it was such a relief to park and walk. The hotel room was very clean. We enjoyed the balcony. The outside is a bit 1970's, but the inside decor of the room was new. The breakfast was truly excellent!!!!!!! The Bamberg New Residence Palace will do a free English tour if you e-mail them ahead of time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We arrived in Bamberg without reservations and so a friendly guy at another hotel called the Hotel Altenbergblick and booked us 2 rooms there. When we arrived we were a bit apprehensive because the exterior of the hotel is kind of a '70's grey concrete apartment and we entered through their small back door from the parking area. The reception area was okay and their breakfast room was big, bright and airy so it being late and us being tired, we decided to stay. Their hallways could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting but once we got into our rooms they were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean (maybe recently renovated) but behind the crisp white sheers their window frames were old with peeling paint and the room safe must have been one of the first ones ever made.
It is located in the midst of a residential area about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the old town. We did have a nice view of the old castle on top of the hill. The breakfast buffet was quite nice. All in all after a good nights sleep I would say it was okay for our one night stay but the place could be improved with a bit of a reno.

  • Liked — Very nice breakfast
  • Disliked — Hallways could use a facelift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

This is an exremely friendly, modern, confortable hotel located on a hill above the city center of Bamberg. It sits amidst a very nice residential neighborhood about a 20 minutes "Spazieren" (scenic walk) from the city center, with part of the way being a pedestrian walkway that skirts the grounds of the Dom. The breakfast buffet offered excellent Bavarian fare, many of the items like preserves being home-made, and delicious dairy, grain, and wurst choices. Seating was available in a glass-enclosed room with garden views. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Parking is available free on-site.

  • Liked — Location away from crowds and noise
  • Disliked — Condition of hallways
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel garni Altenburgblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel garni Altenburgblick

Address: Panzerleite 59, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel garni Altenburgblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel garni Altenburgblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.