We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weierich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Weierich to your Saves list
Hotel Weierich
Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel for a week. The location is great, straight into the centre, close the bridge and Dom. The building is old and full of character. The hotel is managed with love and care. The entrance, breakfast room and staircases are very nice. My room, despite being clean and confortable, lack the character of the rest of the Hotel. In any case this is a very good option if you like to stay in the centre.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Situated right behind the Alte Rathaus in Bamberg, Hotel Weierich is a cosy, privately run hotel with very friendly staff. The room was comfortable and the breakfast excellent, and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This small charming place is really well located.
During Christmas time the hotel is nicely decorated.
The hotel personnel were always very attentive.
If you like it more luxurious then you shouldn't go there.
It is kind of simple but in a cute way.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We're budget travelers. I had originally booked a small double room at the hotel, but changed my mind after seeing that one of their apartments was available at a much lower rate.

We stayed 3 nights in the rear, ground-floor apartment on Mitteler Kaulberg Strasse. I have mixed feelings about our stay. You get what you pay for here.

Upon arrival at Hotel Weierich to pick up our keys, we were greeted by a somewhat frenzied gal who hurriedly pointed up the hill and told us to look for a red house. Whoa, slow down... I needed more specifics than that. Although I had looked up the street address before we arrived, I had to ask her to give it to me again. Finally, after much back and forth using my high school German, she then pulled out a xeroxed map (why she didn't do this initially, I don't know) and we were sent on our way. Thank goodness we're light packers and very fit, for the hill was a bit steep and the apartment seemed much further away than I had figured out on Google maps.

It was up to us to figure out which apartment door to enter, as there were several apartments in the same building. We finally found it, through the lobby, then through the back door into the courtyard. There were nice complimentary bottles of spring water in the building stairwell, as well as a basket of toilet paper.

The apartment, at first glance, was pretty nice and newly renovated with basic IKEA furnishings, including a nice kitchenette. There was ample storage and a small table/chairs. The bathroom was modern and the entire place was pretty clean.

It did have a few issues, though: The pillows were dreadful. Absolutely the cheapest, thinnest things I've ever experienced in a hotel. We had to fold them 3 times to get them to support our heads. We are not usually complainers, but after our first day, we left a note on the bulletin board in the stairwell that had a sign "If our guests need anything, please leave a note." Well, we did, but no one replaced our pillows. We made do the second night (didn't realize they weren't replaced until we returned to the apartment after the Weierich's front desk was closed). By the third day, we had given up.

The bathroom needs a better shower curtain, because water covers the entire bathroom floor each time one showers. It's a drag to have a wet floor for hours, sometimes all day.

If you rent the apartment, you won't get maid service (which was fine with us), nor will you get extra towels for your stay. We made do for 3 days with our 2 towels, figured we'd have as much luck getting fresh towels as we did getting new pillows.

There was a door missing from the wardrobe, which made it look like a rummage sale piece. The bed did not have a headboard. And the curtains/blinds are an issue. The door has a glass window that was feebly covered in a tattered blind, which had some of its slats missing. Anyone outside, looking in, could have seen us in bed. At night, I hung a towel over most of the door. The other blinds are too narrow for the window openings, but they had curtains over them, as well. The rods were about a foot longer than the windows. It sure was a bit odd.

The heat worked well, and it was quiet. I imagine in the summertime noise would be an issue, for our apartment overlooked another apartment's patio and outdoor garden area. So if folks are outside sitting or having a drink, you'll hear it all. And they'll see you, in your fishbowl apartment.

But, it was a cheap place to stay. But, if and when we return to Bamberg -- which knocked our socks off, by the way -- we won't stay here. In fact, we won't stay at the Hotel Weierich, either. It was a odd place -- the lobby was in disarray, with luggage and piles of papers and manila folders, plus a food cart or something in the middle of the place. We only saw the one staff person, who seemed to be constantly running. She wasn't unpleasant, she just didn't have time for pleasantries and we certainly didn't feel that welcomed.

The area of town where the hotel is located is somewhat quiet at night. There are restaurants and a few pubs/breweries, but we crossed the river almost every night for our meals or to hit a brewery. Next time, we'll stay on that side.

Bamberg was absolutely phenomenal, one of the prettiest cities I've ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had room 5 on the first floor this time. The room was nice, decent sized, very clean, with a small but very clean bathroom. We had three windows, a large schrank, along with a couch and table/chairs. We had a few small issues that weren't worth reporting: the soap dispenser at the sink was empty (the same dispenser in the shower was full so no big deal), the shower appeared to, at one time, have had doors but now had a curtain. I hate shower curtains but it was clean. Lastly, and this isn't the hotel's fault, we were there in late November so of course it was cold outside. The bar/restaurant downstairs was packed Saturday night with apparently lots and lots of smokers. Some of that smoke found its way into the lobby and our room; not horribly strong, but we could smell cigarette smoke. The following morning the smell was gone and did not return Sunday night.

The location of the hotel is great; about two blocks from Bamberg's beautiful rathaus. Our corner room was away from the main road so we heard no road noise whatsoever (of course our windows were closed). Restaurants and shops are literally below and next door and the famous Dom is about 200-300 meters walk away. Parking on the street is quite difficult but we did manage to snag a couple spaces while there and only once had to feed the parkschein automat!

Breakfast was pretty good with the standard German fare. The bread selection was not stellar but adequate. Boiled eggs were the only warm/hot food but that is not a complaint. Coffee was plentiful.

This was our second stay at Hotel Weierich. When we return (probably next year) we'll no doubt stay here again. And lucky for us Americans, they accept VAT forms so we all avoid paying the German VAT for the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Central, clean, good value. Good breakfast. Near to all the pretty sights in the centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent: in the heart of downtown only minutes from both the Dom area and the shopping erea. Bamberg is a beautiful city (on the UNESCO list). Because of the many one-way streets in Bamberg, you may need a good map or GPS to find the hotel, but make sure you do find it for the hotel is excellent. We stayed with 4 adults in a single room, which turned out to be a two room suite with a full bathroom for the low price of Euro 135. I believe the hotel does not have an elevator. The breakfast was superb. The staff provided a good map to the nearby public parking garage (5 minute walk) and stored our luggage on the last day. If you expect to arrive very late, notify the staff in advance; I believe the office is not manned during the late evening and night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weierich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weierich

Address: Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels with a very nice flair in the center of the old city. You can reach everythig by feet in 2 or 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Weierich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weierich Hotel Bamberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weierich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.