We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nepomuk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nepomuk to your Saves list
Hotel Nepomuk
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nepomuk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Muehlbrucke 9 | 96049 Bamberg, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Agree with many of the reviews on here - the place is beautifully located, nice restaurant and is very clean with good service.
Our room was in the modern annexe and we could not complain about anything.
Warm and clean and a great place to crash after a few smoked beers in the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
26
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
saddleworth
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This hotel is delightfully situated on a bridge over the river,with views into the Altstadt from breakfast room and restaurant terrace.It is 10 mins or so from the main sites.
Our room was large,well appointed,in modern style;it had a sitting area with a large window overlooking the river (away from the town,but oh so pretty).
No airconditioning.
Breakfast buffet was of a good standard ,although as with buffets there was occasionally a failure to replenish items;this was the main failing in this hotel,but not especially significant.
Other than that service was very good;there is a nice area outside the reception acting as a sitting out area/cafe which was delightful.
The terrace restaurant is SUPER.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

We could not have selected a better
Place to stay well enjoying the the beautiful town of Bamberg than the
Hotel Nepomuk. Friendly and attentive English speaking staff.Parking available on site is a big plus.
Terrific room with view and sound of river. Easy walk to town center and sights.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

What a location! Literally on the river in a perfect spot in this must see town. Get a room with a view! They also have bikes to use to go on the trails by the river. There is a clever parking lot at the hotel which is another plus. We did not try the restaurant for dinner but it looked lovely. The breakfast was our favorite in Germany so far!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful location in the middle of the river, our room was very modern & clean. Breakfast buffet included was fantastic. Only negative was the quite expensive wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS, NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

My boyfriend was born in Bamberg, so we visit this amazing city at every opportunity. The Nepomuk is one of three hotels I'll stay in while here. The location is awesome. Two excellent benefits are that it has it's own (VERY SMALL) car park and an (tiny) elevator! To give an idea how small this lift is... It used to be a fireplace & will only hold 1 person w/a suitcase at a time! We stayed in the top floor in a room facing the Altes Rathaus. Looking out the window carries you back in time to expect to see Heinrich & Kunigunde walking the streets below you. Downsides are... no a/c. In June, it did make for a hot stay. Opening the windows allowed for every moth in a 5 block radius to flock to the light in the room, so it was either be covered in bugs, or close the windows! To make up for the problem, believe it or not, a hotel employee made a special trip to a local store to purchase a portable fan so we'd be more comfortable! The room was a bit spartan in it's furnishings, but still very comfortable. The bathroom more than adequate. Breakfast the next day could have been fresher, but we did come down a bit late in the morning. Would I stay again? Yes... Would I recommend it. I do.. All the time.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this well located hotel. It felt like a cross between Venice and Niagra Falls as it is on a tiny island and the sounds of the river surrounding it reminds me of the sound of a waterfall.

The views are great. The rooms are very modern and a bit sterile, but the views, location, river sounds, and Michelin quality restaurant made up for it.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The sterile decor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nepomuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepomuk

Address: Obere Muehlbrucke 9 | 96049 Bamberg, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nepomuk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the scenic medieval old town of Bamberg at your stay in the Hotel Nepomuk. All the key highlights of this marvellous city are just a few steps away from your room. Business traveller or companies will benefit from the options and facilities of our hotel. Our hospitality team will make your stay as pleasant as possible. Every room is equipped with 27" Apple iMac computers and free internet access. Start your day with a tasty and fresh breakfast starting from 4 €, savour our daily lunch specials starting from 4,80 € or feel like the king of Franconia with our 6 course menu at our fine dining area>>Esszimmer<<. Finish your eventful day with a fine cocktail at our bar and look forward for what's to come at your stay in Bamberg at the Hotel Nepomuk and the Eckerts Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nepomuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Nepomuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nepomuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.