We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay for One Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Geyerswoerthstrasse 15-21A, 90647 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay for One Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We only stayed here for one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. We were able to check in early and had a lovely room. Very comfortable and large for European standards. It was quiet and impeccably clean. It is in a perfect location, quiet, but close to everything. We did not eat in the restaurant, however when we got back after dinner the restaurant was already closed but we were hoping to have after-dinner drink and they kindly poured us a complimentary apertif at the small bar when you walk into the lobby. Service was very professional, helpful and friendly, and everyone spoke some measure of English, but seemed to appreciate our broken German! The hotel and our room were beautiful with a nice and reasonable mini-bar in room. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Bamberg, which we will because we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
18
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I really enjoyed staying at Villa Geyersworth Hotel, the staff was excellent, and the food in the hotel restaurant was superb. The chef makes a different pesto nightly, and the duck gets rave reviews from other patrons. This hotel is within walking distance of old Bamberg, and close to autobahns. The hotel is in a great location for you to enjoy the city of Bamberg. You have to pay for parking but there is a garage. The hotel has a good massage program, and small fitness center with a sauna. A restaurant near the hotel worth a try is the Bolero where they serve Spanish Tapas. One tip is do not rent an SUV the streets are small and you may have trouble.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

The best place to stay if you are in the area for business. For leisure travel I would not recommend it.

  • Liked — the sauna
  • Disliked — being surrounded by business travelers
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

A delightful hotel in an ideal central position. Bedroom was spacious and spotless and bed very comfortable. Only complaint was no full length mirror. although plenty of room to install one. Food excellent both breakfast buffet by the river and evening dining in charming terrace restaurant. Staff were helpfull and efficient. Convenient carpark under hotel with direct access. Had a really lovely stay.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Villa Geyerswoerth for two nights in May with my wife as we were visiting Bamberg for a wedding. We booked with hotel.de and received a discounted rate.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and we were given a very large, bright room at the front of the building. The room and bathroom were of an excellent standard. Our only criticism is that the beds were rather hard.

We ate only breakfast at the hotel, sitting outside one morning which was very pleasant. The breakfast consisted of a well stocked and varied buffet.

The hotel has a small spa area which was very relaxing.

The hotel is ideally located to explore the old town on foot.

We would stay again if returning to Bamberg.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel

Address: Geyerswoerthstrasse 15-21A, 90647 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.