We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barock Hotel am Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Barock Hotel am Dom to your Saves list
Barock Hotel am Dom
Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Adlington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and can recommend for location and service, staff very helpful and accommodating, breakfast is simple but ample to set you up for your day ahead in a beautiful, bustling city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
51
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Centrally located at the mediaval old town of Bamberg, just next to the cathedral, this lovely family-run hotel is an excellent choice when you visit Bamberg. The building is a few hundreds year old mansion. It's five minutes walk to most of the historical sites and old restaurants and beerhouses. The owner is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived late in the evening, the owner moved his car to make a room for us. The next day, they gave us a map and detailed directions to the places we wanted to visit. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. Bamberg ends up being one of the most memorable places for our German trip and we really enjoyed our stayand highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here in late September 2012. The hotel is wonderfully located just below the Dom. The historic center of Bamberg is not large so it is very easy to walk to the main sights from the hotel. Bamberg is a lovely town.

Our experience with the hotel was outstanding from the quality of the room to the excellent breakfast. Given the location of the hotel my guess is that all of the rooms would be quiet. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Barok Hotel am Dom has an absolutely central location, just beneath the cathedral. I would return when visiting Bamberg. The lady who runs this hotel is very knowledgeable and recommended two outstanding restaurants frequented by locals. But driving there, using the directions provided, is a challenge. The breakfasts were served in a white-washed room with a multiple-vaulted ceiling. Our room was clean and modern. Call ahead to reserve a space for your car, unless you want to go looking for a parking space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First, there have been many comments on TripAdvisor about getting to this hotel successfully. We had detailed written instructions from the owners, who said that GPS didn't work very well in the small streets around the hotel. We also had our new GPS (a Garmin Nuvi 2475) with North American and European maps loaded.

The directions were fine and thr GPS matched them street for street, turn for turn. But when we got to a place where it looked like a pedestrian area, we made a right turn instead of going straight ahead into the cobblestone area where there is a cafe with tables outside. The "lady on the dashboard" calmly took us around in a cricle until we were back looking at those cafe tables, and then noted a small blue sign on the right side that had the hotel name on it with an arrow straight ahead. So we slowly proceeded past the cafe patrons, and made a hard right just past the tables, followed by two quick lefts and we were in front of the hotel. Just drive slowly, don't be afriad of passing those cafe tables, and you'll be just fine.

There is very little street parking so I would advise going for the 7 Euros for their private parking in a courtyard almost next to the hotel. The gate is not closed, so your car is available to you at any time.

The hotel is lovely, as are the couple who own it. They were so helpful. The Dom (cathedral) itself is a few minutes walk up a steep hill from the hotel, so you are really right in the middle of town.

We had a room on the third floor, but there is an elevator so bag handling was a snap.

The bathroom had an interesting shower. It was essentially open with some small glass panels on each side. The owner said that they had complaints from large people not being able to fit into a conventional shower, so they installed this. It was fine as long as you directed the telephome shower away from the opening!

Breakfast was a large, excellent buffet in a very interesting room.

All in all, a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated in old Bamberg, an easy walk to everything. We had a spotlessly clean room in a quiet location of the hotel. We were able to park overnight right in front of the hotel. The breakfast room is a charming room with vaulted ceilings. There was an excellent selection of breakfast food. We have been in Bamberg twice before at another hotel. This hotel is much more reasonable and has a better location for seeing the old town, therefore, we would stay again. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Ask the hotel for driving directions, as Bamberg has many pedestrian areas, be patient, you will get there.
Try to book your room here early, there are not many, and it is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located in the center of the historical, medieval old town of Bamberg, just a few minutes walk from the cathedral and pubs serving the famous smoked beer. The owners are very nice and very helpful with information concerning the best places to enjoys the various grades of smoked beer. All the old town sites, shopping and restaurants are close at hand. The hotel is housed in an building that has all the modern facilities, but does not lack charm. Other reviews claim difficulty finding the hotel. We Google satellite mapped the old town area and followed landmarks and street name right to the hotel. This visual aid was very helpful. Parking is limited in front of the hotel, but the owner will provide parking (7 Euros) in a small courtyard to the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bamberg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barock Hotel am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.