We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barock Hotel am Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Barock Hotel am Dom to your Saves list
Barock Hotel am Dom
Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Moraga
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here in late September 2012. The hotel is wonderfully located just below the Dom. The historic center of Bamberg is not large so it is very easy to walk to the main sights from the hotel. Bamberg is a lovely town.

Our experience with the hotel was outstanding from the quality of the room to the excellent breakfast. Given the location of the hotel my guess is that all of the rooms would be quiet. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
60
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Barok Hotel am Dom has an absolutely central location, just beneath the cathedral. I would return when visiting Bamberg. The lady who runs this hotel is very knowledgeable and recommended two outstanding restaurants frequented by locals. But driving there, using the directions provided, is a challenge. The breakfasts were served in a white-washed room with a multiple-vaulted ceiling. Our room was clean and modern. Call ahead to reserve a space for your car, unless you want to go looking for a parking space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First, there have been many comments on TripAdvisor about getting to this hotel successfully. We had detailed written instructions from the owners, who said that GPS didn't work very well in the small streets around the hotel. We also had our new GPS (a Garmin Nuvi 2475) with North American and European maps loaded.

The directions were fine and thr GPS matched them street for street, turn for turn. But when we got to a place where it looked like a pedestrian area, we made a right turn instead of going straight ahead into the cobblestone area where there is a cafe with tables outside. The "lady on the dashboard" calmly took us around in a cricle until we were back looking at those cafe tables, and then noted a small blue sign on the right side that had the hotel name on it with an arrow straight ahead. So we slowly proceeded past the cafe patrons, and made a hard right just past the tables, followed by two quick lefts and we were in front of the hotel. Just drive slowly, don't be afriad of passing those cafe tables, and you'll be just fine.

There is very little street parking so I would advise going for the 7 Euros for their private parking in a courtyard almost next to the hotel. The gate is not closed, so your car is available to you at any time.

The hotel is lovely, as are the couple who own it. They were so helpful. The Dom (cathedral) itself is a few minutes walk up a steep hill from the hotel, so you are really right in the middle of town.

We had a room on the third floor, but there is an elevator so bag handling was a snap.

The bathroom had an interesting shower. It was essentially open with some small glass panels on each side. The owner said that they had complaints from large people not being able to fit into a conventional shower, so they installed this. It was fine as long as you directed the telephome shower away from the opening!

Breakfast was a large, excellent buffet in a very interesting room.

All in all, a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated in old Bamberg, an easy walk to everything. We had a spotlessly clean room in a quiet location of the hotel. We were able to park overnight right in front of the hotel. The breakfast room is a charming room with vaulted ceilings. There was an excellent selection of breakfast food. We have been in Bamberg twice before at another hotel. This hotel is much more reasonable and has a better location for seeing the old town, therefore, we would stay again. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Ask the hotel for driving directions, as Bamberg has many pedestrian areas, be patient, you will get there.
Try to book your room here early, there are not many, and it is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located in the center of the historical, medieval old town of Bamberg, just a few minutes walk from the cathedral and pubs serving the famous smoked beer. The owners are very nice and very helpful with information concerning the best places to enjoys the various grades of smoked beer. All the old town sites, shopping and restaurants are close at hand. The hotel is housed in an building that has all the modern facilities, but does not lack charm. Other reviews claim difficulty finding the hotel. We Google satellite mapped the old town area and followed landmarks and street name right to the hotel. This visual aid was very helpful. Parking is limited in front of the hotel, but the owner will provide parking (7 Euros) in a small courtyard to the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

A nice comfortable hotel which is run very efficiently. It is a bit hard to find when you are driving up to it...keep your eyes peeled for the blue signs and you do have to drive through what looks like a pedestrian area to get there. The outside of the hotel is charming and it is run by a very efficient woman. There is some limited parking outside. Our room was on the third floor. Beds were comfortable and the room was large but in need of some updating and modernizing as it all looks several decades old without any charm. The hotel setting is nice and quiet and it is a great place to get your washing done overnight. Breakfasts were good although no cappuccino was on offer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is located within the old town, very close to the Bamberg Dom. Everything was a quick walk and easy to find. The owners were so friendly and gave us multiple suggestions for things to do and places to go. They certainly made our stay a very comfortable, pleasant stay. Hotel is so centrally located to all restaurants and beer gardens we walked so much but were able to see many things. We were interested in seeing Altenburg Castle but were concerned that we would not be able to find it, the owner gave us such great directions that our walk to Altenburg became one of our best experiences in Bamberg. Breakfast was wonderful, the room was quaint and the staff was very helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Tandem Hotel
Tandem Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barock Hotel am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.