We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barock Hotel am Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barock Hotel am Dom to your Saves list
Barock Hotel am Dom
Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is located within the old town, very close to the Bamberg Dom. Everything was a quick walk and easy to find. The owners were so friendly and gave us multiple suggestions for things to do and places to go. They certainly made our stay a very comfortable, pleasant stay. Hotel is so centrally located to all restaurants and beer gardens we walked so much but were able to see many things. We were interested in seeing Altenburg Castle but were concerned that we would not be able to find it, the owner gave us such great directions that our walk to Altenburg became one of our best experiences in Bamberg. Breakfast was wonderful, the room was quaint and the staff was very helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
51
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an historic building. The owners speak English and were friendly and helpful. They lent us a guidebook for the city and also provided a city map. We stayed in a room on the first floor, neat the front door and were concerned that it might be noisy, but that was not the case. Breakfast in a vaulted room was more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the barockhotel very much. The rom itself wasn't typically baroque (luckily) - more like 1980-styled. Spotless, neat and with a nice bathroom. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Barock Hotel am Dom. Our hotel room was very large, even by American standards, extremely clean and the bathroom very modern. Our room overlooked the Cathedral, which was beautiful, but as a few other reviewers posted, don't expect to sleep late on a Sunday. There are a few parking spots outside, but they were very small, even for our European car. The staff was very friendly, spoke excellent English and were very accommodating. The breakfast was standard German fare, except for the croissants which were quite excellent.

My tips:
The hotel is located on a back alley road, so be prepared to feel like you are driving in a no car zone when arriving.
Make sure you ask for the wi-fi password when you check in. We forgot to do so and by the time we came back to the hotel that night (around 10pm), the staff had gone home for the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English in Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Due to our travel plans we only stayed one night but would have very happily stayed longer in this beautiful old, quaint hotel. It was genuinely stunning and fits in so well with the part of town it's located in. Our room was fine- had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom would be a bit of a squeeze for those of a larger frame, shower was lovely, no bath. Breakfast was a reasonable choice of breads, cheese, cereals etc and

The owners were very helpful and friendly, the husband is Dutch so I'm sure he speaks near perfect English like most Dutch people.

Make sure you do print off a very detailed map of the hotel location We did find it with our sat nav after a few wrong turnings as although we speak German, the sat nav doesn't. Actually I think getting lost in Bamberg's alleys and tiny narrow streets adds to it's charm but a lot of the nearby streets are pedestrianised and if you're the navigator be prepared for some 'are you sure' comments from the driver.

I cannot think of anything wrong with this hotel. Well I can but for me they weren't issues:
- Remember this city dates back to the middle ages and the centre is full of cramped, narrow houses, so the rooms are not spacious.
- Related to that, the rooms probably
- It's not called 'Hotel on the Dom' for nothing. Remember kids, cathedrals have bells and they ring at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Staying here was a pleasure. The owners were very nice and the breakfast also with a very good selection. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quite spacious. Bamberg is a wonderful place with lots of lovely restaurants and so much to see in the old town. We were travelling Europe by train so caught a taxi from the station to the hotel and the owners arranged for a taxi to pick us up and take us back to the station when we were leaving. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night while in Bamberg on our way to Berlin. First, let me tell you that this hotel is IMPOSSIBLE to find. The GPS does not work well in this part of Bamberg so do not rely on it. Once you get into the old part of the city and start winding around streets, if you are lucky, you will see a tiny sign with the name of the hotel on it. At that sign you have to drive through what looks like a courtyard and then turn right into what looks like a service alley. I had to have my husband get out of the car and walk around the corner to see if it was really a road because the streets here are SO narrow, you don't want to get stuck and not be able to turn around. Honestly, this hotel needs better directions and signs. Inside the hotel was nice. I am very glad we reserved a space to park because there was no street parking. The reserved area is tight, but manageable (we had a Ford Mondeo wagon).

We made our reservations for this hotel nearly a year in advance, however the day before we were scheduled to arrive, I received an email that we would have to have a twin bedded room instead of a double because of a water problem. It was fine because my husband and I still had a bed each, BUT, I was a little disheartened that there are more than 2 rooms in this hotel and we had made our reservations a year in advance, yet we were the ones who got bumped. Doesn't make sense to me, but okay. Our twin room was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the street so we had some noise from people outside late at night. The bath was strange, but well lit. The strange part was that the shower did not have a door. It had a open front. I wondered how that would work and I managed to keep the water pretty contained during my shower. My husband, on the other had, needed all our reserve towels to mop up the floor when he was done. Our room was quite small, but had enough space to move around. While I did enjoy our stay here, after visiting, and seeing where some of the other hotels were located (easier to find), I think I would not stay here again. Nothing against the service, cleanliness, etc. It was simply too hard to find. Thanks for a nice stay, though.

Room Tip: I would request a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barock Hotel am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.