We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamberger Hof Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bamberger Hof Bellevue to your Saves list
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schonleinsplatz 4, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Nice hotel and centrally located, rooms are clean although it did have a strange bathroom layout. There was a glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom, so the room is only suitable for single occupancy unless you like an audience when you're on the loo. Breakfast was nice and internet was 5euro per day.
The room I had was noisy with outside traffic and street cleaning early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
15
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel is great, no chaine hotel, in the good old traditon of hotels. The rooms are all renovated and spacy. The location is quiete, but near the center. Everything can be done by foot, no car needed.

It's a lot cheaper to keep the car in the public garage nearby (about 5 minutes by foot)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

This is not a 4 star quality, although you pay for it. Upon arrival, there was no one to help with the baggage, except a very young female clerk who was most unknowledgeable and no self-respecting male would watch her load 4 large suitcases for delivery to the room. We had Junior Suite with the shower being in an open bathtub that if one stood straight, you would hit your head on the ceiling. Help in English for phones, etc. didn't exist. No ice is available at the hotel, and no amenities like notepaper. On asking the clerk where we might buy the cookies that were served in the lobby, she said it wasn't possible and the first bakery we walked in had them, 2 blocks from the hotel. This lacks so much that one expects in a 4 Star Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Karen Brown recommends this hotel and the tourism office did as well. I stayed in two other hotels in Bamberg, but if I had to choose one, this would be it.

All the rooms are decorated differently so I would ask to see a variety of rooms.

I would not have dinner or lunch here, however. The hotel works with a modern German restaurant that is casually chic and was recommended to me by a shop owner. It turned out that as they did not accept credit cards, I could charge it to my hotel room!

  • Liked — the vernacular style
  • Disliked — It is a bit faded
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We walked in. We live in Bavaria and drove to Bamberg for a weekend break. As it was only for a night, we didn't see the need to book a hotel room.

Bamberger Hof was the 3rd hotel we walked in. The first one was fully booked, the 2nd one was a bit run down for 80 eur. The double room at Bamberger Hof costs 165 eur, and another 15 eur for their underground parking.

The room was big with an open-concept bathroom. Very good breakfast and excellent service from the breakfast and reception staff.

We had a very pleasant stay and felt it was good value for money.

  • Liked — Everything except the quality of the parking garage.
  • Disliked — The garage is a bit old.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

I stayed in the Bamberger Hof for four days at the beginning of August. The temperatures in Bamberg were in the thirties (centigrade), with the strong sunshine occasionally being punctuated by evening outbursts of thunder. Though there was no air-conditioning in the Bamberger Hof, the temperatures were bearable (if you kept the windows open all the time). The room itself was hugely comfortable with a powerful shower and a comfortable (and sleep inducing) bed.

The breakfasts (which work out at circa Euro 12) are quite special. Great selection of cheeses and cold meats, fruits and juices and a huge variety of different types of bread, as well as the ubiquitous yoghurts and cereals. Coffee freshly brewed and of the ilk that wakes you up in the morning. Breakfast is served in an exquisitely decorated white-hued gallery room which positively emits good vibes.

The hotel's other restaurant (where you can dine al fresco) was a little less impressive. The Sunday buffet consisted of a selection of different roast meats which seemed to be congealing in their own sauces. Against this, however, they serve good food on weekday evenings and I enjoyed schnitzel and chips and a great weissbeer there midweek.

All in all, I was happy in this hotel. It's quite old fashioned and the atmosphere there evokes the nineteenth century. And Bamberg itself is a wonderful spot. Hardly touched during the war, it hosts a collection of historical buildings which have won it World Heritage status. One of the most spellbinding towns I have ever visited.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

This was an enjoyable experience! I was in Bamberg for Business and I loved the Hotel, the Decor, and the people who work there. It is located downtown within walking distance of shopping, the River, and some great Restaurants! Check out the Luitpold next door, (TGIF style place) and Bolero's down the street for great Tapas and atmophere, Mario has to be your waiter!!!

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamberger Hof Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamberger Hof Bellevue

Address: Schonleinsplatz 4, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamberger Hof Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bamberger Hof Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamberger Hof Bellevue Hotel Bamberg
Bamberger Hof Bellevue Bamberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamberger Hof Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.