We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Schrottenberg

Save Saved
You added Palais Schrottenberg to your Saves list
Palais Schrottenberg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palais Schrottenberg
Kasernstrasse 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in the second location across the street. We had a nice room with a good, hot shower, which was nice after a long day. The location is in the best area of Bamberg, close to all the best historic sights and evening activities (restaurants and pubs).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is 2010. We felt we got the "bait & switch" situation. The photos of a hip, contemporary high ceiling room is not the Palais Schrottenberg - it is a separate building affiliated with the hotel called DomHerrenhof. We reserved according the website - 2 HIP chambres but got a 80's furnished 16m2 room. After an exhausting day at a trade fair, I couldn't remember what I had reserved (or if it really mattered). The receptionist asked us "guest room or hotel room?" as it COSTS THE SAME- so I asked her which one was the nicest? And she replies "of course the Baroque rooms" in the main hotel. Minutes later she tells me "The guest house is not possible, cause it is MORE EXPENSIVE." Oh, let me also not forget to add that we 4 were the ONLY guests that evening. We felt ripped. Yes, impeccably clean, delicious breakfast, the dining room is BAROQUE - but not room numbers 4 or 5.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this great hotel this month for the third time and we were, as usual, very happy with the accomodation, staff and service. The rooms are terrific with super high ceilings, modern furnishings and large bathrooms (including a bath).. We stayed in Room 1 on the last 2 visits which is right next to reception and doesn't require a trip up the grand staircase to the upper level rooms. Breakfast is a generous buffet. Staff members are very helpful and we were particularly grateful for the suggestion to visit a delightful winery about 1/2 hour away for a birthday lunch. They were also very relaxed about checkout time and allowed us to leave our cases in our room most of the afternoon. We noticed on Trip Advisor that other hotels have higher ratings, but we opted to stay with our favourite and were very pleased we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

This was our 4th trip to Bamberg since 1996. All four times we spent 3 days in the city. The Palais Schrottenberg was by far the best hotel we have stayed at in Bamberg. Its location in the Old Town is conveinient to The Dom, the Regnitz and all the restaurants and breweries. We even were able to walk up to the castle which overlooks Bamberg. We had an 8 passenger van, parked it for the entire 3 days and walked to all the places we wanted to see in Bamberg. We even walked to the Bahnhof to take a train to Nurnberg for a day visit. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beer garden and restaurant located right in the hotel are fantastic. We had 5 of our adult sons with us and they were amazed. Our oldest son said that he felt as if he were in a storybook with the narrow streets and half timbered structures right outside our door. The complimentary breakfast each day was also fantastic.
Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Bill Birney, Wallingford CT USA
birney9@snet.net

  • Liked — The location and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

Built 300 years ago as the home of a wealthy merchant, and having had many changes of use since, this is now a very comfortable hotel right in the heart of beautiful Bamberg. There are 13 rooms of varying size and the nightly rate is from 100 to 140 euros, including breakfast. All the attractions of Old Bamberg are on the doorstep and numerous restaurants serving excellent food at very reasonable prices are within easy walking distance. We had 1 of the 2 ground floor rooms, both of which are huge with great high ceilings. Rooms are very well heated in winter and have ultra modern furnishings and fittings. Bathrooms, too, are large but have no bath: however the power shower was excellent and there was constant hot water. Toiletries and towels were adequate, but no more than this. A nice glass-fronted bar/cafe/bistro which overlooks a pleasant courtyard, has been added, and is very popular with locals, as is the restaurant.. Buffet breakfast comprises mainly cold meats and cheeses, and the selection is good. Hot cooked breakfast is available on request but this appears to be a "well kept secret" - no one tells you this! The hotel is staffed mainly by young, energetic and attentive people, so service is good and fairly fast. However, it attracts great crowds of locals for weekend breakfast and finding a table can be difficult at these times. Hotel residents appear to be given no preference over locals. One problem with ground floor rooms is that of privacy. Windows are at street level and passers-by are inclined to have a good look in!!

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — No tables reserved for residents at breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Contact the hotel direct and negotiate - don't accept first room rate given
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2004

We stayed at Palais Schrottenberg in March 2002 and were very impressed. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. A hotel like this in the States would be double the price. The breakfast buffet was out of this world and the mini bar is well worth mentioning (very affordable) as well as the sushi bar (on season). The atmosphere is very sophiticated and elegant. We felt quite special as guest of Palais Schrottenberg! Perfect location. Great value. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2003

Palais Schrottenberg is by far the hippest, best hotel in Bamberg. The hotel is a historic palace directly on the river and only a short walk to the city center. The rooms are modern and stylishly decorated. After living in Bamberg for a year and getting to know the city and hotel offerings, Palais Schrottenberg is definitely where I will stay when I return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palais Schrottenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Schrottenberg

Address: Kasernstrasse 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Palais Schrottenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Schrottenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.