We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel National to your Saves list
Hotel National
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 37 | 96052 Bamberg, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice older hotel, 15 min walk from the aldstadt. Everything was quite nice, staff friendly, accommodations nice, beds good, hotel has had many recent renovations and improvements. WiFi was free and easy to access with a password generated from the front desk. There is a car park under the hotel, we parked for free on the street directly in front of the hotel (weekend street parking is free). The best touch was the very nice included fruhstuck (breakfast), which is on an upper floor. I have to say this was the best and most complete hotel breakfast I have ever had except for places that make your breakfast to order. We had drinks in the restaurant the night before, which was comfortable and nice, but did not eat there (although later wished we had). The menu looked interesting. We paid 88Euros for a double which ended up being a king-size bed. Don't be surprised at the strange figure in the stairwell.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger, other rooms a tad small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very close to the Main Railway Station and that was ok for us because we were there only for the weekend. Altstadt is 15-20 min walking.
Room was big and clean, staff's nice and polite. Ok breakfast.
It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Innelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
458 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights while on Oktoberfest Tour with Bayern Trips. Centrally located - short walk from train station and historic sites. Our room was very small only a few feet on each side of our double bed. Good breakfast. WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

For the price I paid, I had expected more... It's old and not so close to the center. The bathrooms need an urgent renovation and the breakfastroom is too small for the amount of tables they have put in it. 70 € would had been ok, but 94 is too much for what they offer!!!!! Either they renew the hotel or they should lower the prices. I was very disappointed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigodona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bamberg hotels

Fort Benning, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was located near the train station and is within walking distance to everything. The room for a single person was what it is but that's expected in Europe. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the staff was nice and a restaurant was located in the hotel, the too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank airborne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel is located near central station, three minutes away on foot and five minutes from Old Rathaus. Hotel is very clean and relatively cheap. Please try negociate price in person if it is off season. Hotel employees are not very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask front desk to get quiet room. Room facing main street might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. It is likely that the hotel has seen better days, an little updating and cleaning would make this hotel a great place to stay in Bamberg. On-site parking was a benefit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#10 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#3 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 37 | 96052 Bamberg, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel National 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to a 3 stars *** hotel with comfort and atmosphere. The hotel offers all comfort of a business hotel in traffic-favorable situation. Business travellers, tourists, cultural enthusiast, families and groups count to our company circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing