We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel National to your Saves list
Hotel National
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 37 | 96052 Bamberg, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice older hotel, 15 min walk from the aldstadt. Everything was quite nice, staff friendly, accommodations nice, beds good, hotel has had many recent renovations and improvements. WiFi was free and easy to access with a password generated from the front desk. There is a car park under the hotel, we parked for free on the street directly in front of the hotel (weekend street parking is free). The best touch was the very nice included fruhstuck (breakfast), which is on an upper floor. I have to say this was the best and most complete hotel breakfast I have ever had except for places that make your breakfast to order. We had drinks in the restaurant the night before, which was comfortable and nice, but did not eat there (although later wished we had). The menu looked interesting. We paid 88Euros for a double which ended up being a king-size bed. Don't be surprised at the strange figure in the stairwell.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger, other rooms a tad small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
25
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very close to the Main Railway Station and that was ok for us because we were there only for the weekend. Altstadt is 15-20 min walking.
Room was big and clean, staff's nice and polite. Ok breakfast.
It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
409 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights while on Oktoberfest Tour with Bayern Trips. Centrally located - short walk from train station and historic sites. Our room was very small only a few feet on each side of our double bed. Good breakfast. WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

For the price I paid, I had expected more... It's old and not so close to the center. The bathrooms need an urgent renovation and the breakfastroom is too small for the amount of tables they have put in it. 70 € would had been ok, but 94 is too much for what they offer!!!!! Either they renew the hotel or they should lower the prices. I was very disappointed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Benning, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was located near the train station and is within walking distance to everything. The room for a single person was what it is but that's expected in Europe. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the staff was nice and a restaurant was located in the hotel, the too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel is located near central station, three minutes away on foot and five minutes from Old Rathaus. Hotel is very clean and relatively cheap. Please try negociate price in person if it is off season. Hotel employees are not very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask front desk to get quiet room. Room facing main street might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. It is likely that the hotel has seen better days, an little updating and cleaning would make this hotel a great place to stay in Bamberg. On-site parking was a benefit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 37 | 96052 Bamberg, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel National 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to a 3 stars *** hotel with comfort and atmosphere. The hotel offers all comfort of a business hotel in traffic-favorable situation. Business travellers, tourists, cultural enthusiast, families and groups count to our company circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Bamberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.