We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was amazing - Value was unbeatable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sandstern

Hotel Sandstern
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sandstern to your Saves list
Hotel Sandstern
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Sandstrasse 11, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location was amazing - Value was unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room was really inexpensive and the breakfast buffet was yummy.
WIFI worked great on the top floor. People were very helpful.
The live entertainment part of town is outside the hotel which makes for a very short walk to the room which is good but it got a little noisy out on the street around 2am when the clubs closed. Otherwise the location was amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocklawnmower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good location for the city center, in the pedestrian area of comfortable roukapaikkojan close. Hotel features clean rooms and a buffet breakfast. Jazz and other music clubs right next to the hotel. The hotel is a good fit for people who do not need to Parking near the hotel, City maps or instruction on arrival.
Annoying thing of the hotel: "Free parking can be found close to the Sandstern Hotel" refers to the possibility for public parking. I got a phone instructions where to park, and in the morning the motorcycle had parking fine..Then I got new instructions from free public parking place which was in a remote area, that's where I did not want to leave the motorcycle. After this, I instructed a paid parking garage which was also a 15-minute walk away. Later notice that closer to the hotel was othetr s a parking garage at same price. When I arrived, I got a hotel key using the key code, but there was not available the city map or any information about the city.

Room Tip: The rooms are quieter at courtyard, street bars will cause some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KulkijaHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable, typical smaller European size. Nice breakfast buffet, with plenty of options and good coffee. The location is right in the middle of town, within walking distance of restaurants and attractions. On the downside, there is no elevator or parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AT184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No fixed abode
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A serious walk from the railway station, so we suggest you take a taxi or spend an hour getting lost down the back streets of this beautiful city. Like we did... It was hardly a chore though as we gasped at the sights of Bamberg for the first time, but if you’re carrying luggage, a cab is your best bet.

NOTE: The Reception is not manned full time and they are only around in the morning and afternoon until 18:00, plus they have a two hour lunch break. Make sure you contact them with your arrival time to arrange getting a key. After hours the key lets you into the side entrance and directly to your room.

You couldn’t ask for more from a location and the Sandstern Hotel (meaning sand star) is bang in the centre of things in the Old Town among cobbled-stoned streets, medieval churches (you’ll love the bells chiming I’m sure but the effective double glazing ensures it’s not too intrusive) and such a picturesque backdrop you’d think you were on a Hollywood set.

The room (#16) was small but nicely laid out with heavy wooden furniture, small (14”) TV showing local channels and a writing desk. The double bed was firm and comfortable, the linen excellent and it was very clean.

The bathroom was even smaller but everything worked with plenty of hot water for both the shower (very good) and sink. They even supply liquid soap for both and a handy power point for shaver/toothbrush.

More than adequate lighting, including bed side lamps, a wardrobe and central heating finish off the items present and overall we had a very pleasant stay, especially as we had arrived for the annual beer festival.

Bamberg has over 70 individual breweries- who needs the expensive Oktober Fest in nearby Munich anyway?

Breakfast is available as an optional extra but we didn't try it but the free wi-fi was faultless and we had access in the room.

See our Blog for more details (address in our profile) or contact us directly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights, the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the town, its placed in a nice cobblestone street a midst cafes and bars and my own room which was on the top floor had a great view of the cathedral, especially at night! The hotel is not luxury but i thoroughly enjoyed it, had a cosy homely feel within the rooms if not a little dated. I havent a complaint, the staff and breakfast are also worth a mention, they where spot on. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#11 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#3 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alt Bamberg
Hotel Alt Bamberg
#13 of 41 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandstern

Address: Obere Sandstrasse 11, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sandstern 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sandstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing