We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bamberg Altstadt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bamberg Altstadt to your Saves list
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerplatz 2, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
359 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Hotel is located in the heart of the old town. In a 5' walk we were in the main street. The hotel parking is excellent, with a wide entrance and a good parking space. The room is smaller than some other Ibis, and this is understandable due to building size.The breakfast was good and enough tio start the day. The room was clean and we had plenty of hot water for a good shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    183
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
148
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

stayed here on a recent drinking trip to Bamberg. its your typical Ibis hotel with a smaller reception / lobby area than some

room was clean and reasonable size - perfect for somewhere to crash out after a long day drinking beer in Bamberg :)

would say that it was slightly more expensive than some Ibis i've stayed at in the past (about £200 euros for 2 nights for a twin room when we went)

all in all i'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A reasonably typical Ibis with good location but with even smaller room than usual. Found it pricey, but that may be Bamberg. Parking was also expensive. Staff were fine, neither friendly nor unfriendly. May try somewhere else next time I visit Bamberg, which is certainly worth a second visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good for anyone who prizes a clean place at a reasonable location.
I had the opportunity to stay at approximately 10 Ibis hotels in Europe recently. I was surprised because it was the only one were the receptionist was cold and unsympathetic. "By the book", it shouldn´t happen, no matter you pay 1 EUR or 1,000 EUR for the room, but ok.
It was just a small negative detail in a wonderful day in Bamberg!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I took a group of 15 people to Bamberg and we stayed here for one night. The rooms are very clean, small but comfortable. Everything is a bit minimalistic and the bathrooms are really tiny but that's what IBIS is known for. It's all you need. Clean. Comfortable bed and a good breakfast before you head out. If you prepfer a larger breakfast save the 10n Euros and head to the cafe next door..
They had several parking lots available in the garage and the location is perfect.
You can walk right over to all the sights in Bamberg such as the "Rathaus" and old streets, little Venice etc. I love this city and would stay at this Hotel again anytime.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet since it's located in a tiny side-street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have spent one night here with a friend booking from internet.

At first it was disapponting that instead of only booking, after I gave the number of my credit card I had already paid the room even before arriving in Bamberg.

Secondarly when you arrive the hotel is in a place where it is difficult to park and your instinct makes you put the car into the garage of the hotel.
But it costs 12 EUROS X DAY and you have to pay at once, without doing it when you go away!!

DON´T PARK YOUR CAR INTO THE CAR PARK OF THE HOTEL, IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE!!!

The bathroom is very SMALL and it is difficult to move inside the shower.
When you sit on the toilet your knees almost hit the wall!!

The breakfast is not included.
We didn´t opt for it because we where disappointed because of the car park and we decided not to pay for a second extra.
BUT IT IS FULL OF BARS AND CAFES NEARBY WHERE YOU CAN HAVE QUICK AND CHEAP BREAKFASTS.

The WIRELESS CONNECTION didn´t work well, and notwithstanding the friendly and helpful employee at the reception we were not able to use the free connection.
IN ANY CASE YOU HAVE TO PAY (AND SUBSCRIBE AT A ON LINE QUESTIONARY PREPARED BY IBIS) IF YOU WANT TO CONNECT INSIDE YOUR BEDROOM.

We think that everything in the hotel is made to make the IBIS spend the least they can, but the customer pays like if your were in a great hotel, and also all the extras are too expensive.
The internet advertisement sometimes don´t tell you clearly that you will spend more than you expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Generic chain hotel, poor service, and adequate breakfast. Our bathroom had a pretty bad smell when we arrived (the drains perhaps), when I mentioned it at the front desk I was handed a spray bottle for bad odours... not very impressive. I also had to go down and collect an iron and ironing board myself although this was typical of my hotel experience in Germany. Beds were comfortable although we had two singles which had been pushed together rather than a double and the pillows were good. Also has A/C.

Room Tip: Low floors probably best since the elevator is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Tandem Hotel
Tandem Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bamberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bamberg Altstadt

Address: Schillerplatz 2, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bamberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamberg is magical: The winding squares, narrow alleys, baroque facades and medieval flair make the old town a unique attraction and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ibis Bamberg Altstadt has 50 air-conditioned rooms offering exceptional comfort and is just 219 yards (200 m) from the town center. WIFI is available around the clock in our hotel, and is free of charge in the lobby. Also enjoy free use of the online PC in our Web Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Bamberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bamberg Am Schillerplatz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bamberg Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.