We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple accommodation well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bamberg Altstadt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bamberg Altstadt to your Saves list
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerplatz 2, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Sale
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simple accommodation well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

stayed here on a recent drinking trip to Bamberg. its your typical Ibis hotel with a smaller reception / lobby area than some

room was clean and reasonable size - perfect for somewhere to crash out after a long day drinking beer in Bamberg :)

would say that it was slightly more expensive than some Ibis i've stayed at in the past (about £200 euros for 2 nights for a twin room when we went)

all in all i'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A reasonably typical Ibis with good location but with even smaller room than usual. Found it pricey, but that may be Bamberg. Parking was also expensive. Staff were fine, neither friendly nor unfriendly. May try somewhere else next time I visit Bamberg, which is certainly worth a second visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good for anyone who prizes a clean place at a reasonable location.
I had the opportunity to stay at approximately 10 Ibis hotels in Europe recently. I was surprised because it was the only one were the receptionist was cold and unsympathetic. "By the book", it shouldn´t happen, no matter you pay 1 EUR or 1,000 EUR for the room, but ok.
It was just a small negative detail in a wonderful day in Bamberg!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank André T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I took a group of 15 people to Bamberg and we stayed here for one night. The rooms are very clean, small but comfortable. Everything is a bit minimalistic and the bathrooms are really tiny but that's what IBIS is known for. It's all you need. Clean. Comfortable bed and a good breakfast before you head out. If you prepfer a larger breakfast save the 10n Euros and head to the cafe next door..
They had several parking lots available in the garage and the location is perfect.
You can walk right over to all the sights in Bamberg such as the "Rathaus" and old streets, little Venice etc. I love this city and would stay at this Hotel again anytime.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet since it's located in a tiny side-street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have spent one night here with a friend booking from internet.

At first it was disapponting that instead of only booking, after I gave the number of my credit card I had already paid the room even before arriving in Bamberg.

Secondarly when you arrive the hotel is in a place where it is difficult to park and your instinct makes you put the car into the garage of the hotel.
But it costs 12 EUROS X DAY and you have to pay at once, without doing it when you go away!!

DON´T PARK YOUR CAR INTO THE CAR PARK OF THE HOTEL, IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE!!!

The bathroom is very SMALL and it is difficult to move inside the shower.
When you sit on the toilet your knees almost hit the wall!!

The breakfast is not included.
We didn´t opt for it because we where disappointed because of the car park and we decided not to pay for a second extra.
BUT IT IS FULL OF BARS AND CAFES NEARBY WHERE YOU CAN HAVE QUICK AND CHEAP BREAKFASTS.

The WIRELESS CONNECTION didn´t work well, and notwithstanding the friendly and helpful employee at the reception we were not able to use the free connection.
IN ANY CASE YOU HAVE TO PAY (AND SUBSCRIBE AT A ON LINE QUESTIONARY PREPARED BY IBIS) IF YOU WANT TO CONNECT INSIDE YOUR BEDROOM.

We think that everything in the hotel is made to make the IBIS spend the least they can, but the customer pays like if your were in a great hotel, and also all the extras are too expensive.
The internet advertisement sometimes don´t tell you clearly that you will spend more than you expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edoardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Generic chain hotel, poor service, and adequate breakfast. Our bathroom had a pretty bad smell when we arrived (the drains perhaps), when I mentioned it at the front desk I was handed a spray bottle for bad odours... not very impressive. I also had to go down and collect an iron and ironing board myself although this was typical of my hotel experience in Germany. Beds were comfortable although we had two singles which had been pushed together rather than a double and the pillows were good. Also has A/C.

Room Tip: Low floors probably best since the elevator is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ibis Hotels you can find in every city in Germany and Europe, I have been to one in Munich, Essen and Bremen. The rooms are the same size with the same " Ikea type Furniture ". which you really can not call Furniture. There are 2 10" open shelfs for your things and below to hang your cloths, a large desk with flat TV. Everything is functional and clean, the Bath Room is a mere 2 square yards. Breakfast costs 10 Euros and parking 12 in their garage. Then there are some old type of hotels, actually Gasthauses, which might have some charm but might not have an Elevador

Bamberg is a beautiful and interesting city which was not bombed during the war, it is much nicer than Heidelberg with friendlier people at halve the price and hardly any foreign Tourists. They have many small Breweries in the old Gasthauses, one is called " Schlenkerla " who brew a Rauchbier, Smoke Beer, there are : Bamberger Wuerschtle " and a specialty they call 'Schaueferle", roast pork from the shoulder.
A walking city tour of 2 hours costs only 8 Euros and a boat ride on the river the same which I would not recommend since most part is in the commercial port and the beautiful houses along the river you can see even better from the other side.

Room Tip: All rooms are same and are not on a noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#3 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bamberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bamberg Altstadt

Address: Schillerplatz 2, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bamberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamberg is magical: The winding squares, narrow alleys, baroque facades and medieval flair make the old town a unique attraction and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ibis Bamberg Altstadt has 50 air-conditioned rooms offering exceptional comfort and is just 219 yards (200 m) from the town center. WIFI is available around the clock in our hotel, and is free of charge in the lobby. Also enjoy free use of the online PC in our Web Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Bamberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bamberg Am Schillerplatz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing