We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great family place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bamberg Altstadt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bamberg Altstadt to your Saves list
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerplatz 2, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Vista, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a great family place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

First let me say that this hotel was booked for us, by someone else, and also very last minute. I believe it was the only place available in Bamberg.
My husband, 2 daughters (12 & 14), and I were traveling together, and we had to make a last-minute trip to Bamberg for my husband's business portion of the trip. Bamberg is a beautiful city with some great beer, so we were happy to go.
The hotel is right in the middle of the city, which was great, but noisy. While they had two rooms available for our family of four, the rooms were not adjoining. This is a huge issue for me. The rooms were very simple, but clean, and very small. The wifi in the room is not free, and neither is the sub-par breakfast. In fact, the breakfast was expensive when comparing it to the huge spreads we had at other hotels.
I think, for a single person spending one night in the city, this is an acceptable place, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    177
    52
    11
    5
See reviews for
36
144
36
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed with my husband for only one night, the receptionist spoke in English to us (finally!!! it is really hard to find somebody in Bamberg that speaks English or at least makes the effort) a friendly receptionist, check in and check out fast and efficient, the room small but clean and perfect for one night, the only thing is that I requested a king size bed and got two single mattresses put together, didn't mind much however don't know why I had the option to choose that type of bed if in reality I am going to get something different.
All in all, we liked it and close to the city centre, I do recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Security level low: Reception desk most of the time was unmanned. Anyone could just walk in unnoticed and use the elevator.
Free WiFi: only in lobby, extremely slow, password changed hourly. I gave up and used the DSL connected pc in the lobby, also extremely slow. Attached printer had an "out of order" sticker for three days.
Room: adequate small size and clean, but smelly.
Bathroom: smallish, origin of the bad smell, tiles in shower area not very sparkling.
Still, I only paid a low early booking rate for my stay, so didn't complain - but certainly expected a more professionally run hotel, like other Ibis'es I have stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Well situated very close to the main sites, it lacks unfortunately hygien. Dust, spots are everywhere. Rooms small but rational. If you come by car, you actually need to use their park place. Then, at the best rate, one room for 2 with breakfast is 81 euro when adding BF and parking to the min 49 euro of a room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed one night in this middle-of-town hotel while we visited this wonderful city. The two couples both feel a hotel room is someplace to sleep and change clothes so the rooms were ideal, even if a bit small. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was satisfying. There is coffee available all day long in the breakfast room. Location is terrific for just walking around the city. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were here for 3 nights in November. Excellent location right next to the old town.
A typical Ibis - good value, small room, clean and good breakfast.
At the end of the day, you get exactly what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The staff was very polite and professional.The location was perfect for visiting this beautiful city.Localizacion perfecta para vistar este preciosa ciudad.Personal amable y profesional.Visitamos Bamberg durante el mercado navideño y es un hotel perfecto a menos de 5 minutos del mercado y del casco antiguo.Desde la estacion son unos 15 minutos andando,pero recomiendo parar en una de sus estupendas cervecerias que quedan de camino.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Tandem Hotel
Tandem Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bamberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bamberg Altstadt

Address: Schillerplatz 2, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bamberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamberg is magical: The winding squares, narrow alleys, baroque facades and medieval flair make the old town a unique attraction and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ibis Bamberg Altstadt has 50 air-conditioned rooms offering exceptional comfort and is just 219 yards (200 m) from the town center. WIFI is available around the clock in our hotel, and is free of charge in the lobby. Also enjoy free use of the online PC in our Web Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ibis Bamberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bamberg Am Schillerplatz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bamberg Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.