We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arkaden Hotel im Kloster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arkaden Hotel im Kloster to your Saves list
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karmelitenplatz 1 / Westfluegel | Am Knoecklein 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I really cannot understand why this hotel has some negative reviews. My room was the largest I have ever stayed in (40 sqm) and it was extremely well furnished. The breakfast was wonderful - lots of fresh fruit and home-baking. The hotel atmosphere was quiet and calm and the staff were friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Room number 11 is huge (maybe the others are too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    7
    4
    20
See reviews for
20
47
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband & I & 2 children, aged 21 & 23 stayed in a family room at the Arkaden for 2 nights in September. The room was huge & beautifully furnished & the bathroom was lovely. There is a lift. I had read in reviews that it can be a little hard to find, so I had emailed them beforehand to get the exact address to give the taxi driver & we had no problem. It is located quite a way from the station, but very close to the town, so we could walk into the town easily. Breakfast was excellent. My emails before the visit were always answered promptly & the staff were very helpful. There were restaurants within 5 minutes walking time away. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose th Arkaden Hotel because it featured in the Michelin Guide for accommodation. Alarm bells should have rang when we were told there was only one room left (a valuable lesson in itself) but felt comfortable in accepting it because of the Michelin Guide. The room was tiny - the smallest we have ever stopped in. It was on the top level making it oppressively hot. We asked if there was a fan available but that was not an option and there was no air-conditioning. We then bought water so we could chill it but found no mini bar or fridge to keep it cold. We stayed on the eve of the Olympic opening and thought we would make a miserable evening pass by watching a world event. There was not one english speaking TV station. All this for 120 euro. It was the most we paid throughout Germany with the least amenities. The position is up a very steep walk away from the fun of the central streets and the lovely shopping. Bamberg should have been a lovely memory but not possible with such ordinary accommodation. Yes, we should have walked but after 4 hours driving on a 30C day, we could not muster another once of energy. Thank goodness for trip advisor so others can be warned.

Room Tip: Not room 21 - extremely small and tiny bed. Not in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The large, comfortable and charming room with immaculate bathroom (not a spot!) is a terrific place to return to after exploring the lovely town all day. We expected to hear church bells (being in a monastery) but it was amazingly quiet. Great breakfast (worth the cost), very helpful staff and convenient parking made us vow to return sometime when we visit Bavaria next.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have to admit that this review will not provide a feedback on the amenities of the hotel, as me and my family were never let in by the most arrogant and unhelpful staff we ever met in any hotel. I made a reservation of an apartment via a leading hotel reservation engine. When we arrived there with my husband and our small 2,5 years old son, they told us that there were fully booked and didn't let us in. We first tried at the parking gate where some lady on intercom simply hanged up on us without showing the smallest interest in seeing our reservation. Later at the entrance of the reception the same lady didn't let us in again and didn't even want to take a look at our reservation, but repeated that they were fully booked. We explained that we drove 700 km and were with a small child, but it didn't change anything. She stayed the same arrogant. She neither offered any help or assistance, but when we asked for it, she again hanged up and didn't answer our calls any more. We were left with a small tired child at 19:00 in the dark street. A person that helped us was a hotel guest that was an accidental witness to our conversation. She was the same outraged as we were and couldn't believe her ears. Fortunately she managed to get a phone number of another hotel in the vicinity, where she called to reserve a room for us. Then she led us by her car to the new hotel. I think this was the minimum what Arkadenhotel should have done for us once they realised that there was some mistake or miscommunication concerning our reservation. For us it was a deeply regrettable experience and we would like to express our opinion about this hotel on your website so everybody can get a sample how they are treating people. I cannot believe that this hotel received such positive fitback. For us it was the most outrages travelling experience.

Aleksandra with a family

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

We loved the large room with one bed and not 2 twins pushed together. Couldn't have been happier with our 1 night stay. Don't miss Bamberg. Most scenic of all the cities near the Romantic Road. Great free Internet and easy parking!! Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were very pleased to find this hotel in Bamberg. It is close to the old town and the actual house is interesting too.
The standard of the room differs, one of the families had a room with very nice decoration while the other room was more standard.
Breakfast was not included in the room, but it is good value to pay for it and have a good start of the day before you go out and try all of Bambergs different beers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arkaden Hotel im Kloster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaden Hotel im Kloster

Address: Karmelitenplatz 1 / Westfluegel | Am Knoecklein 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkaden Hotel im Kloster 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arkaden Hotel im Kloster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkaden Hotel im Kloster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.