We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tandem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tandem Hotel to your Saves list
Tandem Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Untere Sandstrasse 20, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Tandem. The rooms are new (at least where we were), very clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They were great in suggesting places to eat and have a beer and took care of all our requests right away.
As others have noted, there is no immediate parking on the property and they will suggest you park just down the road. No one seemed to mind when I parked on the sidewalk to offload our luggage, so this may be an option if you aren't afraid to drive over a curb. If you need assistance from the staff or have a special request for them, it is best to bring it up in the morning over breakfast as they do seem to disappear later in the afternoon. There is someone on the grounds that you can ring if miss them in the morning.
The location is great, you will be close to old town and plenty of places to eat.
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As with other reviews that I completely agree with, the Tandem is in a great location for the old town just over the river, the local breweries, the tourist attractions of castle and cathedral. The room and en suite are adequate and spotlessly clean. However, there are reservations when it comes to providing hotel services and amenities. The breakfast cafe at the time of the year we visited ( December) closed after breakfast and so there was nowhere to sit, have a coffee or just relax. There is no tea or coffee making equipment in the room, no tourist information or hotel information and although the staff were polite and friendly, they too disappeared later in the morning. If you want a clean, modern room in a great location with none of the hotel 'extras' then you would be very happy with the hotel but it did fall short of our expectations of a place calling itself a hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river at the front. Although it's on the road/ bridge, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury U.K
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here in early November , the room was small but perfectly adequate , clean and functional with a lovely view over the river on two sides .Breakfast was fine in the cafe , and this hotel is only a short walk from the town and all its attractions. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon , and although we were told by e mail that parking was public and a 100 meters away it was at least this ,and difficulty in finding a place as well. You then have to get your luggage back to the hotel as parking outside next to the bridge is not possible . We used under the underpass to quickly decant the luggage . Overall a good one night stay but be aware of parking if arriving by car

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I concur with previous reviews - we stayed in the wing facing the river with its gentle flow and ducks. This interior is modern, less than 5 years old and immaculate. The other wing was redone in place rather than a tear-down. Jutta Weiss (owner) was our breakfast cook and waitress as this was the off-season. The location is perfect for the town, in my opinion. We wanted to see the Dom-area church, the Residence and Michaelkirche, which were very close at hand. Good view of town from Michaelskirche. We walked the streets around the river from the hotel down to just below the Old Town Hall - we were also canvassing for eateries, ending up at the Schlenkerla as one choice suggested by Jutta - a brewery/tavern with good food - the beer is local and has a mysterious smoky taste. We met a couple from Leipzig there whose English far surpassed our German. They were in town for nearby hot spring baths.

Room Tip: If you want modern interiors (while quiet), ask for the river side. We did not visit the other wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Small family run hotel just beside the river. The building was a wreck and has been totally renovated. Our big room was on the second floor with windows on two walls. Excellent double glazing and comfy bed meant a good night's sleep. Great shower too. Very good breakfast in the café downstairs. We came by train and used a taxi to get to hotel - under 10€. Not sure where you could park there, but they do have bike storage. Very convenient for the Altstadt and a wide range of restaurants within 10-15 minutes. Bamberg really worth seeing too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Last minute booking for a short cycling trip. Very impresssed with location complete with view of ducks and quiet enough to not feel over run by tourists. Great cycle park in cellar. Beautifully presented breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Tandem by accident, because due to a trades fair all hotels in Nuremberg and Erlangen were either fully booked or charged ridiculous prices. Small Hotel, I had a beautiful room on the river, good bed, desk, free internet, good bathroom, great breakfast at the cafe, very competitive prices. Very friendly staff. Will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tandem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Hotel

Address: Untere Sandstrasse 20, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tandem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tandem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.