We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth what you pay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Hemet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth what you pay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel and I was not happy. I had called up Best Western to insure that I would get a room with a bathtub they told me the room I booked had a bathtub shower combo. They said they had called the hotel to confirm this. When I arrived no bathtub. I have stayed at this hotel in the past so I knew they had rooms with tubs. The girl at the front desk would not move us even though she had to cancel other guests because the hotel elevator was broken. No help what so ever. We were going to stay 3 nights but only stayed 1. In addition, the breakfast that was so very good the last time we stayed is not as good now. I will not stay there again.

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you.
You have booked a twin bedded room and in these rooms we don't have a bath tub. A bath tub is only available in our superior double rooms. On this weekend all our superior double rooms have been booked. Unfortunately our central reservation team gave you wrong information about the room features.
At the same weekend we had unexpected problems with our elevator. Our team called the emergency help line immediately but it took some time until the maintenance support showed up at the hotel. For security reasons only a qualified maintenance man from the elevator company is allowed to open and repair the elevator.
We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service.


Sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    103
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
155
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A VERY FRIENDLY and comfortable hotel that my wife and I used as a stopover on our journey home to UK from Reit im Winkl. We found the staff very helpful, the room comfortbale, the breakfast excellent and overall an ideal place to stop.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apart from its uninspiring appearance this is an excellent hotel. It is ideally located, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Bamberg whilst being far enough away to offer peace and quiet. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was very functional , modern and comfortable. The breakfast was a very good buffet with a wide choice and staffed well to maintain stocks etc. The only reason for not giving it a 5 star was that despite it having its own underground carpark it charged €8 per day to use it when it should be free to guests. There is complimentary beverages in the reception area and Best Western members are given either a free drink or a bar of chocolate. There is an ice machine and other amenities for guests to use. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bamberg.

Room Tip: It would be quieter on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed hotel for 2 nights and just loved it. It has everything you need. The breakfast was delicious. It's a 5 minute walk to the old town, I know some reviews have said 15 minutes but it really depends on where you are going to, as soon as you cross the bridge you are in the Market area and the old town starts.
It's a 10 minute walk from the train station as well.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Lincs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only stayed here one night, arriving late and leaving early.
Parking is underground, which isn't a problem. We managed to park SUV (just).
Reception / bar staff were very hospitable. The bar served local beers, which were very good and reasonably priced.
The room was good, clean and as expected for a Best Western.
Breakfast in the morning was good, lots of selection.
Check-out was quick and easy. I also got a bar of chocolate at check-in!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

My family and I stayed only one night but the hotel was perfect. Situated between the train station and the old towne, it was the perfect location if you are travelling by train, and wheeling heavy luggage. The rooms were comfy, the buffet breakfast which was included was a very good assortment of ffruits, breads, cheeses, coffee cakes etc. They had a free laundry room, equipped with washer/dryer and sold detergent tablets for twenty cents a piece. Great timing because we were running low on some items that needed to be washed. Lovely hotel, good priced and great location. Not the old world charm that you would get if you stayed in the old towne, but for us, the location was better and the air conditioning was what we were looking for. Highly recommend and would stay here again 100 percent.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garching, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

The desk personnel and staff were excellent. The hotel is super-clean and modern. The check-in was great and the computer had our reservation, even though I'd made it online from my smartphone only 30 minutes before. The check-in agent volunteered to help me join the rewards program. It was such a positive experience!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tandem Hotel
Tandem Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.