We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price/performance ratio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent price/performance ratio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Quite centrally located (within quick walking distance to the old city center) yet in a relatively quiet area in spite of the rather busy street passing by (100% sound proof windows). Breakfast is excellent: it is impossible for me to understand other reviewers evaluating it as "mediocre", plus, there are free croissants and coffee and lemonade during the day. Reasonable price, given the beauty of the city and centrality of the location. Well-stocked "BIO" grocery just next to the hotel. Garage in the basement. Would be my choice again.

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue: windows are 100% sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    72
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
113
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room was well equipped but way too small (there is almost no room beween the desk and the bed so that you kind have of slide when you cross the room) for the 130 euros charged. Breakfast was mediocre and overall the service was not very impressive (on check-out, the senior receptionist asked me if I was satisfied with my stay, I told her that I found that my room was too small : she very tactfully told me that next time I should choose the more pricey rooms which are bigger...I hope that this not the kind of answer they teach them in hospitality management, Anyway It reminded us of John Cleese in Fawlty Towers, so we had a laugh)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my wife and I stayed at this hotel overnight on a tour of Germany last week .Bamberg is a lovely old city with many wonderful sites to visit. The Best Western hotel is centrally situated in the city near the river and shops . It is a modern hotel with very good facilities We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as the hotel does not offer dinner however there are lots of good restaurants within a short walking distance . The rooms in the hotel are air conditioned which was a bonus as some of the Best Western Hotels we stayed in in other towns did not have air con .
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Bamberg area.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are probably better from a noise point of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights. Nice modern hotel, very clean, with good sized rooms. Aircon throughout. No restaurant. Room rate included breakfast and comprised a large choice of cooked meats, cheese, fruit and breads/pastries.Eggs, bacon and sausages were also available. The hotel was busy when we were there and timing was important when descending for breakfast. Staff were all helpful, friendly, and efficient. We used the underground car park and were able to take the lift from there, directly to reception and to the floor our room was on. Great when checking in and out. There's a wonderful organic food shop attached to the same building, with a huge range of food and drink.
The hotel is located a 10/15 minute walk from the Alte Brucke right in the heart of the old town. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again, and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltmann, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed there last december with a bunch of colleagues that had a conference in Bamberg. Since I'm from the Bamberg area myself, my own experience with hotels IN Bamberg is limited.

This Best Western is a nice place with a modern design. The rooms are clean and big enough for a night or two. I was surprised on the sound dampening quality of the windows, because I did not hear much from the downtown traffic outside.

After coming back from the diner, we stayed at the small bar in the lobby. The service was excellent and we had a good time.
Breakfast offered a good selection and was high quality. If the weather permits, try to grab a seat outside.

I was really surprised to find this quality in the service and the amenities in a US chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I know that travel purists say you should not stay at US chain hotels. Well, after 5 weeks of staying at small hotels I was thrilled to arrive here! All the great things listed below:

- friendly and efficient front desk
- restaurants around the corner
- laundry on site and a wash salon a minute away
- big room
- modern bathroom
- body lotion in the bathroom and a bar of soap (yes, little things that make me smile)
- soft, fluffy feather pillows
- free wifi
- great breakfast spread with fresh fruit
- free water and coffee in the lobby

A few minor things that brought it down a star:

- wifi was not fast enough to use FaceTime. I could connect, but it was really skipping.
- having to pay 8 euros extra for parking

We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Booked a larger room with seating on second floor typical hotel room from the world over but air con much appreciated in unexpected high temperatures
Reception faultless breakfast sufficient shame they don't make more use of that room in evening would be brilliant to sit out on terrace with a drink.

Only place outside is small areA and not much of a snack menu need to expand this free cd drinks and coffee all day in reception most welcome. Beat thing for travellers free washer and tumble dryer facility brilliant, also ice available all the time another bonus when temp is 34 plus degrees

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.