We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice hotel, which was easy to find & with secure, underground parking (no space issue, as you often see in city car parks). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast very good. The room was modern and comfortable, with a great view out of the window. It's a 10-15 mins walk to the Altstadt, which is absolutely beautiful! There is not a massive choice for eating / drinking in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, although there are two traditional pubs on the same street. My first choice was full (despite it being a Tuesday night!), so I went in the Brauerei Fässla, which offered tasty food at decent prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    103
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
155
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but now wish we had stayed longer. Great hotel - well located, large room, fantastic breakfast, quick wi fi, coffee/pastries in lobby, parking under the hotel, friendly staff. What more can I say. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating a stay in bamberg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Typically stay at smaller local inns when traveling in Germany. The Bamberg Best Western was a great change of pace. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Location is great as it is close to the train station and city center - easy walk to both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This really was an excellent hotel. Fantastic rooms which were clean and very well maintained. Excellent air conditioning and free wifi. Free parking in secure underground car park. Very easy to find as just off one of the main roads. Good location, a five minute walk into the old town. Breakfast was excellent - great selection served in a spacious dining room. Would definately return in visiting Bamberg again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ideally I'd like to take the Bamberg Great Western with me wherever i go, as it has everything one wants in terms of modern amenities, large well-designed rooms, cleanliness, friendly and welcoming service, good breakfasts etc. So it doesn't have a view, but it does have position. On foot it's about ten minutes from the railway station and in 20 minutes you can walk through the pedestrian precinct of Grunewald and be over the river into the old town. Which is a total treat. This great and reasonably priced hotel really makes Bamberg, the prettiest town ever, into a top experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel provides all the basics about as perfectly as possible. The hotel was immaculately clean; our room was comfortable and well laid-out; our bathroom was new, functional, well-designed, and spacious; there was a free laundry room on our floor; the breakfast was ample and delicious; and the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. And the hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and an easy walk to the historic/tourism area. Of course you probably realize by now that this is not one of Bamberg's charming and gemütlich historic inns and is not located in the tourist area. But if you are looking for a well-located, comfortable, clean, and well-run modern hotel this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is situated conveniently between the railway station and the city centre. It seems to be quite new and the room was clean, even though not especially big. Plenty of tv channels (Beate Uhse channel didn't work, even though it was on the list...) and toiletries were available. Friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent.

However, the view from the window was rather dull, there was no fridge in the room and wi-fi connection annoyingly snapped off every time when there was no data traffic for a couple of minutes or so, at least with my mobile phone (so relogging in was needed). Diners Club was not accepted.

But I can highly recommend this place, since all the fundamental things were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tandem Hotel
Tandem Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.