We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and so friendly too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place and so friendly too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ideally I'd like to take the Bamberg Great Western with me wherever i go, as it has everything one wants in terms of modern amenities, large well-designed rooms, cleanliness, friendly and welcoming service, good breakfasts etc. So it doesn't have a view, but it does have position. On foot it's about ten minutes from the railway station and in 20 minutes you can walk through the pedestrian precinct of Grunewald and be over the river into the old town. Which is a total treat. This great and reasonably priced hotel really makes Bamberg, the prettiest town ever, into a top experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    71
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
113
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel provides all the basics about as perfectly as possible. The hotel was immaculately clean; our room was comfortable and well laid-out; our bathroom was new, functional, well-designed, and spacious; there was a free laundry room on our floor; the breakfast was ample and delicious; and the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. And the hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and an easy walk to the historic/tourism area. Of course you probably realize by now that this is not one of Bamberg's charming and gemütlich historic inns and is not located in the tourist area. But if you are looking for a well-located, comfortable, clean, and well-run modern hotel this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is situated conveniently between the railway station and the city centre. It seems to be quite new and the room was clean, even though not especially big. Plenty of tv channels (Beate Uhse channel didn't work, even though it was on the list...) and toiletries were available. Friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent.

However, the view from the window was rather dull, there was no fridge in the room and wi-fi connection annoyingly snapped off every time when there was no data traffic for a couple of minutes or so, at least with my mobile phone (so relogging in was needed). Diners Club was not accepted.

But I can highly recommend this place, since all the fundamental things were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Clean, modern, friendly staff, well appointed, underground parking for 8 euros per day and breakfast included. Hotel had laundry room for guests to wash/dry/iron for free. Free wifi. Located across the river from city center. All sites are walkable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with an extremely warm welcome from reception. Everyone was very friendly to our 15 month old baby and reception very helpful. The room was nice, modern, air conditioned and spotless. The breakfast was excellent. There is easy parking underneath for 8 Euros per 24 hours. The Hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the altstadt, just a couple minutes walk away. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Bamberg due to friend's hotel choice. There is nothing you can set your finger on besides the location, which is a fair distance from the old city center. Nonetheless Bamberg has numerous more charming hotels than this very bland Best Western hotel. Ok room, very clean bathroom, good breakfast and so on. You could be anywhere in the world, but if you enjoy the safety of Best Western standards, then go for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As has been stated before, this is a well managed hotel.

The Receptionist was very helpful and informative about the hotel in general and also in locating potential places in the locality on a street map for us to have dinner.

Our room, a standard seemed to be compact, but I suppose to be expected for a city hotel, although the hotel was on a busy road, once the air con was cranked up the traffic noise was not too noticeable until morning. The modern ensuite was a wet room shower, which suited us better than a bath, in my opinion the sink was far too large and as a result the surrounding surface too small, so we had to live out of our wash bags instead of spreading out. I think this was probably a design feature, which looked good, but was not so practical, except for the chambermaids.
Overall the room was comfortable and breakfast very good, the breakfast staff were very unobtrusive, but willing.

It's a short walk across either of the bridges into the old town. We were pleasantly surprised to find that two of Bamberg's many breweries were just a few feet, staggering distance from the hotel. The Spezial Brauerei and the Fassla Brauerei, both serve food, although can get very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.