We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Kent, Texas
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The Best Western's Hotel Bamberg was modern with nicely decorated rooms that were large (US size), clean, and well laid out. The breakfast offered a good selection of yogurts, cereals, pastries, jams, meats (sausage, bacon (speck), cold cuts), cheeses (sliced, hard, soft), breads, and fruits (fresh, dried). A parking garage is located under the hotel. All hotel personnel were cheerful and accommodating. Overall, there was a strong sense that this was a well managed hotel.

Located about a 10 minute walk from the old part of town, the hotel is not quite as atmospheric or picturesque as some of the other hotels, but I have stayed at several of them in the past and will make the Hotel Bamberg my choice when I come back to Bamberg.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    83
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
128
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As the title suggests this was our 2nd hotel on our holidays.
This is a modern hotel in the centre of Bamberg so is very close to all what the city has to offer it also has its own parking (Underground and charged)it was safe so i don't mind being charged for that service the hotel is modern so lacks the old feel but that did not let it down in any way, check in was good and we where given passwords for the free wi-fi without having to ask so a plus for that our room was a modern hotel room very nice well appointed and very clean with plenty of shampoo and shower gel.
We ate out at night and hotel staff where good at advising us of dining options we did have breakfast and that was excellent a good hotel to explore Bamberg i will return as Bamberg has a lot to offer and i will use this hotel when i do

Room Tip: Modern hotel all room are alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We found this hotel in a great location, well within walking distance from all the major landmarks of Bamberg. The room is extremely clean and well lit and comfortable. Breakfast is terrific and attached underground parking is convnenient. It may be on the expensive side but it is kept in great conditions. Elevators could be congested so it's best to walk if you stay on the lower levels. There are not many resataurants near by as they are located in the old part of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown, pa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Seriously, the buffet breakfast was superb...many meats and cheeses, scrambled eggs, speck, sausages, pickles, olives, nine types of jams, three different honeys, five muesli, assorted breads and fruits, and a coffee machine with at least six different drink settings. The room was pleasant, and if it weren't raining, you could enjoy patio dining. Our room had a large king bed( two twins together), and might have been for handicapped persons. It was clean, bright, and had ample storage. The wifi was okay, but you had to sign in every time you used it. We appreciated the additional amenities....coffee and snacks in the reception area, and especially the washer and dryer, which we were happy to use. The location was fine, within walking distance to town. Parking was cheap compared to other cities, and nice and convenient. We too used our AAA discount!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is easy to reach and is situated at walking distance from the historical heart of the city. There is a good closed but payable parking. The room and the bathroom are clean and spacious. The breakfast is up to the standard but no more. This is a clean, adequate modern hotel lacking atmosphere and personality, like most hotels of big chains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Position is good, just a little bit outside from the old part of the city. Few minutes walk to the main attractions. The price is little bit high. Breakfast is excellent. Free coffee at the reception. Wireless lan coverage quite bad, at least in our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in Bamberg, easily walkable from the train station. The rooms are very well designed, fitting a lot into a smaller space. Beds were comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The front desk personnel were very helpful and nice. There were even complimentary tea, coffee, and croissants in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was superb, with everything you could want. Although there was a free clothes washer and dryer on the top floor, it was always busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.