We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel but lack of atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel but lack of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is easy to reach and is situated at walking distance from the historical heart of the city. There is a good closed but payable parking. The room and the bathroom are clean and spacious. The breakfast is up to the standard but no more. This is a clean, adequate modern hotel lacking atmosphere and personality, like most hotels of big chains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Position is good, just a little bit outside from the old part of the city. Few minutes walk to the main attractions. The price is little bit high. Breakfast is excellent. Free coffee at the reception. Wireless lan coverage quite bad, at least in our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in Bamberg, easily walkable from the train station. The rooms are very well designed, fitting a lot into a smaller space. Beds were comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The front desk personnel were very helpful and nice. There were even complimentary tea, coffee, and croissants in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was superb, with everything you could want. Although there was a free clothes washer and dryer on the top floor, it was always busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aloudnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Best Western Bamberg deserves its excellent rating on Tripadvisor. This is a clean modern hotel midway between the train station and the old town; about 15 mins walk to each. We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and that is exactly what we got, plus free internet, lovely breakfast and a coupon for 2 welcome drinks in the bar.

The room for our 2-night stay was modern, with neutral furnishings, a good size, bright and well laid out. The bathroom was lovely...compact, with complimentary toiletries, a great walk-in shower, and quality fittings with everything working well. The twin beds were fabulous with firm mattresses and 2 large pillows. We had a mini fridge too but we are not sure if this is a standard inclusion. Other room features include 2 chairs, small round table, flat panel TV (about 26 inch), desk with lamp, small cupboard, a few drawers and some extra hanging space for coats etc. Internet was free and worked well although it did seem slow at times. The TV here has many channels but only about 4 in English, including CNN, BBC News and Eurosport. The room was bright as a result of the large (opening) windows

In the foyer there was free coffee and snacks on a help-yourself basis. There is a supermarket in the building (20 m away) so it's easy to buy anything you may need. The hotel breakfast was great, with a good selection of quality hot and cold food. The breakfast room was spacious and bright, a nice place to linger just a little longer over great coffee.

We would definitely recommend the hotel to other travellers. We were able to use our AAA membership too which is not always possible in Best Westerns in Europe.

Room Tip: Corner room had windows on 2 sides which made the room bright. Rooms away from the elevator would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. This is the best Best Western Hotel we have ever stayed at with a super room, great breakfast, superb friendly and helpful staff, excellent car parking and good central location. The hotel provided excellent value for money in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackwil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was spacious well decorated and with plenty of storage. Loved the wet room style shower room which was also extremely modern and very clean. There was a wide choice of food for breakfast and particularly enjoyed the Bircher Muesli and the range of cold meats and breads.

All the staff were efficient and extremely friendly most of them speaking English which was helpful as we are both lacking in German.

As we travelled by train it was a short walk from the station and also not far to walk to old historic part of town. Would certainly return again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

ive stayed in many best western hotels around the world, but this one has that touch of hospitality that makes you feel at home, from the free coffee and croissants, to the flute of champagne for sunday breakfast- you just wouldnt think it was a chain hotel- the staff were wonderful despite my shocking german and went out of their way to help-handy for train station and a short walk to some brilliant taverns.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#12 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#3 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing