We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were here for one night, and the location is very convenient, since you can walk from the train station to the hotel and from the hotel to the city landmarks. The room is very spacious, comfortable and clean, the bathroom is ok. We did not have breakfast since we departed too early in the morning for that.

Room Tip: No views here, since it is a low building with most rooms facing an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    71
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
113
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This modern hotel, where we stayed during one night in December '13, is a few minutes walk from the city center.

The hotel and the rooms are very clean and well furnished in modern style. The breakfast was good and even seemed to exceed the 3-star rating of the hotel.

As a bonus, there are two nice local breweries just around the corner, offering excellent local "smoked" beer. The places are heavily crowded with locals and tourists all the time and are a great starting point for the beer-experience in Bamberg.

Would definitely not regret to stay in this hotel once again and would recommend it to friends and families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here in last weekend. Have stayed here before a number of times and it's always consistently good. Great spacious rooms, friendly staff, Hotel spotless, great shower, lovely breakfast. Location is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. In fact, this is one of the better hotels we have ever stayed at in Europe. The room was large, modern and very well equipped. We were lucky enough to be located right next to the free washing machine and dryer and they got very well used! The hotel is located within a comfortable walk from both the railway station and the old town. A supermarket is right alongside the hotel. The breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pretty much all the positive things have been said in other reviews so I'll just say we were really satisfied with our choice to stay here.

One thing we felt was a plus is that there are two local breweries right around the corner and another 4 in a short walking distance.

If you sign up for the Bamberg beer discovery walking tour you'll be walking right by the hotel in case you need a break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. It is new, fresh, modern, clean and inviting. The lobby is spacious - 24 hour bar and snacks. Convenient parking. Our room was huge, had a great layout and was very comfortable. Little bags of gummy bears on our pillows instead of chocolate was a charming touch. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the old town. There is a little market next door which is very convenient. I highly recommend and would be thrilled to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently stayed one night here while visiting the charming small city of Bamberg.

Hotel location is about as far from the main centre as you'd want to be before it became inconvenient, about 10-15 minute walk. Hotel has the benefit of underground car parking which is essential if travelling by car to this historic city.

Check in was friendly and efficient and a room was immediately available even though we arrived mid morning (had a prior reservation).

Room was large and fresh - corporate style design, you could have been anywhere but it was perfect for our needs. The two single beds were comfortable if a little firm and very generous in size. Bathroom was a pod style wet room, quite stylish but the WC pan was set too high we thought ! Toiletries and towels provided were adequate. The a/c was good to have too as it was warm weather.

We had breakfast which was served in a first floor breakfast room. We were surprised how busy it was, we thought the hotel quiet, so maybe not many guests but there obviously were. Breakfast was very good - ample selection, all constantly replenished and very good quality.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.