We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pretty much all the positive things have been said in other reviews so I'll just say we were really satisfied with our choice to stay here.

One thing we felt was a plus is that there are two local breweries right around the corner and another 4 in a short walking distance.

If you sign up for the Bamberg beer discovery walking tour you'll be walking right by the hotel in case you need a break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    92
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
135
23
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. It is new, fresh, modern, clean and inviting. The lobby is spacious - 24 hour bar and snacks. Convenient parking. Our room was huge, had a great layout and was very comfortable. Little bags of gummy bears on our pillows instead of chocolate was a charming touch. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the old town. There is a little market next door which is very convenient. I highly recommend and would be thrilled to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently stayed one night here while visiting the charming small city of Bamberg.

Hotel location is about as far from the main centre as you'd want to be before it became inconvenient, about 10-15 minute walk. Hotel has the benefit of underground car parking which is essential if travelling by car to this historic city.

Check in was friendly and efficient and a room was immediately available even though we arrived mid morning (had a prior reservation).

Room was large and fresh - corporate style design, you could have been anywhere but it was perfect for our needs. The two single beds were comfortable if a little firm and very generous in size. Bathroom was a pod style wet room, quite stylish but the WC pan was set too high we thought ! Toiletries and towels provided were adequate. The a/c was good to have too as it was warm weather.

We had breakfast which was served in a first floor breakfast room. We were surprised how busy it was, we thought the hotel quiet, so maybe not many guests but there obviously were. Breakfast was very good - ample selection, all constantly replenished and very good quality.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel while driving from Heidelberg to Dresden. They have a very convenient underground parking. The staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice, modern, but what was really appreciated was the air conditioning on a hot day. They also conveniently have a washer, dryer, and iron for the guests' use. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Only a short walk from the old town. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very modern western style hotel close to the heart of the city. This hotel conveniently sits next door to a nice organic grocery store and has an underground parking garage. Room was bright, air conditioned and very clean. Just a short walk to the heart of the city and shopping.

The only two complaints were that the beds were typical hard German beds and the water pressure in the shower was lacking, but being a new hotel, I assume they had many regulations to deal with on that.

We considered staying in a more typically German hotel, but in the end were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I always try to find hotels with a soul, which is hard to find in hotels in modern buildings. But in Bamberg I decided to try this hotel, because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and because it was easy to park our car in their garage. And I didn't find the other hotels in Bamberg too interesting when browsing the Internet.
The young lady in the reception was utterly friendly and our superior room was spacious and good. The breakfast was really great and professionally managed. A waiter was all the time checking that nothing were missing at the buffet. But it was not a hotel with a soul..............

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the train station and about 10 minutes from the pedestrian heart of Bamberg.

On 3 separate occasions over the course of 10 days, we stayed in 3 different rooms (as we traveled through Franconia) and all were clean, modern, and soundproof.

And then of course there's the buffet breakfast: everything you could wish for, and delicious and plentiful.

On top of all that, staff at the BW are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.