We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel good air conditioning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel good air conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel while driving from Heidelberg to Dresden. They have a very convenient underground parking. The staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice, modern, but what was really appreciated was the air conditioning on a hot day. They also conveniently have a washer, dryer, and iron for the guests' use. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Only a short walk from the old town. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    96
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
144
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very modern western style hotel close to the heart of the city. This hotel conveniently sits next door to a nice organic grocery store and has an underground parking garage. Room was bright, air conditioned and very clean. Just a short walk to the heart of the city and shopping.

The only two complaints were that the beds were typical hard German beds and the water pressure in the shower was lacking, but being a new hotel, I assume they had many regulations to deal with on that.

We considered staying in a more typically German hotel, but in the end were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I always try to find hotels with a soul, which is hard to find in hotels in modern buildings. But in Bamberg I decided to try this hotel, because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and because it was easy to park our car in their garage. And I didn't find the other hotels in Bamberg too interesting when browsing the Internet.
The young lady in the reception was utterly friendly and our superior room was spacious and good. The breakfast was really great and professionally managed. A waiter was all the time checking that nothing were missing at the buffet. But it was not a hotel with a soul..............

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the train station and about 10 minutes from the pedestrian heart of Bamberg.

On 3 separate occasions over the course of 10 days, we stayed in 3 different rooms (as we traveled through Franconia) and all were clean, modern, and soundproof.

And then of course there's the buffet breakfast: everything you could wish for, and delicious and plentiful.

On top of all that, staff at the BW are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I decided to take my wife to Germany and being an army brat, my father was stationed in Bamberg so being back brought back wonderful memories of this town. In any case, we decided to listen to the recommendations of Tripadvisor and stay here. I must say that it was probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The location was phenominal and is about a 10 minute walk into the old town. The rooms were clean and there was free internet access there. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Whether business or pleasure, I really recommend this place here. Also, it was close to the train station as well.

For a little late night snack, there is a pizza joint across the street from the hotel which I think delivers. It appears to be a chain pizzeria but it hits the spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Try as I might, the only criticism I have is that the bathroom lighting, although bright, cast dark shadows on the face. Excellent reception, plentiful information including city map, large breakfast buffet with everything from smoked salmon to pastry, white & dark bread, American coffee + espresso coffee machine. The service was attentive and quick. When the weather permits, there are table on the terrace. Reasonable priced garage parking under the hotel, free WLAN, excellent location only minutes from the old city. We would certainly choose this hotel again, although not cheap, the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a very pleasant 2 nights in Bamberg at the Best Western. Our room was comfortable, clean, and they honored my request on booking for a quieter room-- we were way at the end of a hall, far from the elevator. The location is excellent (easy and scenic walk into the old town) and the hotel comfortable to return to at night. Our only gripe would be that the breakfast could be a lot better-- there was a large spread, but the quality seemed low and very "big box hotel." For the price we were paying (€122/night for our double with breakfast) I think breakfast could be improved.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room away from the elevators and at the end of a hall. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.