We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the train station and about 10 minutes from the pedestrian heart of Bamberg.

On 3 separate occasions over the course of 10 days, we stayed in 3 different rooms (as we traveled through Franconia) and all were clean, modern, and soundproof.

And then of course there's the buffet breakfast: everything you could wish for, and delicious and plentiful.

On top of all that, staff at the BW are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    69
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
107
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I decided to take my wife to Germany and being an army brat, my father was stationed in Bamberg so being back brought back wonderful memories of this town. In any case, we decided to listen to the recommendations of Tripadvisor and stay here. I must say that it was probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The location was phenominal and is about a 10 minute walk into the old town. The rooms were clean and there was free internet access there. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Whether business or pleasure, I really recommend this place here. Also, it was close to the train station as well.

For a little late night snack, there is a pizza joint across the street from the hotel which I think delivers. It appears to be a chain pizzeria but it hits the spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Try as I might, the only criticism I have is that the bathroom lighting, although bright, cast dark shadows on the face. Excellent reception, plentiful information including city map, large breakfast buffet with everything from smoked salmon to pastry, white & dark bread, American coffee + espresso coffee machine. The service was attentive and quick. When the weather permits, there are table on the terrace. Reasonable priced garage parking under the hotel, free WLAN, excellent location only minutes from the old city. We would certainly choose this hotel again, although not cheap, the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a very pleasant 2 nights in Bamberg at the Best Western. Our room was comfortable, clean, and they honored my request on booking for a quieter room-- we were way at the end of a hall, far from the elevator. The location is excellent (easy and scenic walk into the old town) and the hotel comfortable to return to at night. Our only gripe would be that the breakfast could be a lot better-- there was a large spread, but the quality seemed low and very "big box hotel." For the price we were paying (€122/night for our double with breakfast) I think breakfast could be improved.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room away from the elevators and at the end of a hall. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E ENGLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. We stayed there when they first opened 3 years ago. Many of the same staff are still there. Always the sign of a good hotel. We arrived late morning but were still able to check in and go to our room. The same one as our last visit which we had requested by phone just 2 days before. Staff are helpful cheerful and very professional. The breakfast is excellent with a very wide choice. Really sets you up for the day. Location is excellent. Just 5 mins walk from both the town centre and the railway station. No tea and coffee making facilities in room but both are available free of charge in the reception area. Only minor downside is that very little literature is available in English on the town and surrounding area. Will definitely use this hotel again when visiting our family in Germant

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We walked in to this hotel without a reservation and were lucky enough to get 2 of 3 rooms remaining. The front desk staff couldn't have been more accomodating and friendly, especially Viola, whose English was impeccable! The rooms were clean, comforable and inviting and our view was very nice. We opened the windows and a wonderful breeze cooled us off. Rooms are updated and have a safe. Wi-fi was free in our room with a password. They have a washer and dryer on the top floor which is very, very convenient and we took full advantage, haha!! Hotel is in a great location, with a short pleasant walk into old Bamberg. Or, you can rent bikes from the hotel or a bike shop located just a few minutes away on foot. There's complimentary water/coffee/tea in the lobby 24/7. Breakfast is wonderful and the breakfast staff are very helpful and attentive. There's a Bio supermarket and a bank, right next door and the hotel has underground parking. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Corner room has 2 views. 2 windows and lovely breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Best Western Hotel in Bamberg was one of our favorites during our 2 weeks in Germany. We had reserved two rooms and were updated to two suites as we registered. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were large with updated bathrooms all of which were very clean. The location is excellent, just a short 5 min. walk to the city center. The breakfast was delicious with the opportunity to sit either inside or out on the terrace. There is also a garage and a small maket next door. One of our favorite hotels on the trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.