We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa Bamberg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa Bamberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Untere Konigsstrasse 6 - 8, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel and a dinner. Breakfast was phenomenal, the staff was wonderful, the bedrooms were large and very clean, the bathroom was modern and spacious, and the location is just 2 blocks away from the bridge taking you to Old Town. The only thing that it did not have was air conditioning and a bar to sit down and have a drink before dinner or bedtime. I would definitely go there again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room facing the street--quiet at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernsdorf, Manager at Hotel Europa Bamberg, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Pegasus 7755,

Greetings from Bamberg and thank you for the wonderful review; it is my pleasure to share it with the entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best Regards,
your Hotel Europa Bamberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
15
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

With parking underneath,the hotel is ideally and conveniently placed to explore the amazing medieval town of Bamberg. It's just a few doors from two traditional brewpubs which Bamberg is famous for.
The rooms are good - although mine did smell a bit of cigarette smoke despite being a no-smoking room.
Breakfast is excellent and included.
It was an easy walk into the mediaval town centre and also in the other direction to the railway station which I used to travel to Frankfurt and to Nurembourg.
The reception staff were very helpful - they printed our boarding cards for our flights.
I didn't work out how to use the TV in my room but there were too many things to see and do in Bamberg for that to be a problem.
Main downfall was no Wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for advice on getting the TV to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernsdorf, Manager at Hotel Europa Bamberg, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear JVMCornwall,

Greetings from BAMBERG and thank you for the great review.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay; especially our breakfast.

I´m very sorry, about our TV problems.

It was a pleasure looking after you; on behalf of the entire Hotel Europa team I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The staff here goes out of their way to accommodate you. The location is great, because it is very close to the old part of town. It was very clean. However, there are some negatives. The room was very small, There was no air conditioning. The TV was difficult to operate, and it had very few English speaking channels.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the street in hot weather. You need to open the window because of no AC an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for a romantic weekend in Bamberg.

For the price, it would have been nice if the "double" bed hadn't been just two singles pushed together (two single duvets used together too!) However, the room was spacious and very clean, the bathroom was also faultless. Breakfast was included and was very delicious, with extremely friendly staff to guide us through. I particularly appreciated the wide range of teas that they had available there.

The location is excellent and was a short walk from all the sights of Bamberg. Lots of lovely restaurants and pubs within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernsdorf, Manager at Hotel Europa Bamberg, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We are glad that you had a romantic time in Bamberg.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Gunda Klarmann and the Hotel Europa Bamberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Hotel Europa was a short walk from everything in town--restaurants, brewery, Christmas market, and other attractions. Staff went out of their way to make visitors feel comfortably at home. Rooms are small and cozy, but I had everything I needed--great shower, TV, hair dryer, plenty of storage, mini-fridge. Staff waved goodbye at the door as we left. The breakfast buffet was fresh, plentiful, with plenty of variety. Good choice in Bamberg.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Hotel Europa is just across the river from the old city of Bamberg -- very convenient to the tourist sites, though not in the tourist district itself. There is a pedestrian bridge less than one block from the hotel into the old town. The hotel is clean and modern, and the desk staff speak reasonably good English.

I had a few minor things to criticize, but they apply to almost any tourist hotel. First, every horizontal surface in my room (and bathroom) was covered with something. Getting settled in I had to move all the unnecessary junk to one table and put a lamp on the floor to make room for my computer. Second, there was a small leak in the bathroom that led to recurring wetness on the bathroom floor -- annoying to step into late at night. These problems however should not be magnified. I've rarely stayed in a tourist-level hotel that didn't have some kind of minor problem.

On the plus side, the in-room ethernet is free and very fast -- very impressive!

Overall, this is a good choice for the price. No disasters, no regrets. Just a good (not great) tourist hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernsdorf, Inhaber at Hotel Europa Bamberg, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your tipps in our rooms - we will do our best! Please come back soon as we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Europa Bamberg,
Warm Regards,
Sabine Schiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel prices are generally high in Bamberg & we settle for a room with breakfast ( available 6am to 10am) included booked through HRS with just a credit card security. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and the room although much smaller than our prior apartments on this trip, is fine. There is wired internet and it is generally a comfortable stay. Very good breakfast included in rate. Wakeup call & checkout were prompt & easy.
We also located a great flat walk (well used by the locals) along the River Regnitz that takes us 30 odd minutes out of town.
We enjoyed the food in Bamberg with simple sandwiches, an Italian meal at Felini’s that is rec mended on Trip Advisor (good food & fantastic service) and beers, wine & pig trotter & saeurkaut in the traditional hotel Heska. We also enjoyed home made freshly oven baked pasta dishes in the hotel restaurant. All food is very cheap, 7.5 euros for the pasta dishes ( big servings) at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernsdorf, Manager at Hotel Europa Bamberg, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Franconia! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Gunda Klarmann and the Hotel Europa Bamberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa Bamberg

Address: Untere Konigsstrasse 6 - 8, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME in Bamberg, the bit more ... The Hotel Europa is centrally located at the Chain Bridge, this is the beginning of the pedestrian zone and thus the direct route to the historic center of the World Heritage Bamberg. The hotel has 46 stylish rooms that take up the tradition of a Venetian town house. Suitable for Bamberg's "Little Venice" and described in guidebooks as "Franconian Tuscany" Landscape. Welcome to Bamberg - we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Europa Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa Bamberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.