We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadt-Hotel Molitor

Save Saved
You added Altstadt-Hotel Molitor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altstadt-Hotel Molitor
| Obere Mühlbrücke 2-4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in June to visit our son who was studying at the University in Bamberg for his year abroad. The rooms/suites were very comfortable, so were the beds. The bathrooms were spotless. The location was fantastic for the shops, cafes and restaurants/pubs, only a short walk away, lots of historical places to visit too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The fridge was handy for cold water, beer and fruit juices for 1 euro each. The breakfast had everything you could think of to eat, different fruit bowl every day, cereals, toast with an assortment of bread and rolls, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, jams, nutella, no marmite though, as you would expect, luckily I took my own. the only downside was when it was very hot, there was no air conditioning or fans to cool the rooms and the sunny side rooms would not cool down. We bought our own fan for 15 euros.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On a recent two week trip through Germany we stopped here for one night and loved it. Thankfully, we had reserved the Suite which lived up to expectations. The room is huge (sitting area with a sleeping loft) with exposed beams and a big chain hand crank in the center of the room. The sitting room furniture is a bit tired, which is the reason I did not rank this hotel as "Excellent". Beds were terrific and we slept very well.
Breakfast was huge and varied but crowded. If you arrive a bit late they replenish everything so perhaps not arriving with everyone else in the hotel would be smartest.
Parking is an issue. The hotel appears to have only two place (8 Euro each per night) and we were lucky to find a space in a small outdoor lot nearby (8 Euro). There is a larger parking garage nearby but it is double that price.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is was perfect hotel for our stay in Bamberg. Bamberg is not Munich, Frankfurt, or Hamburg, and that's a good thing. But don't expect giant, luxurious American style hotels like you would in those cities. We read the reviews on Molitor - the good and the bad - decided that it was exactly what we needed. It is quaint, it is local, it is very German / European. It is also exactly as described.

It is true that they do not have 24-7 staff, but this is not a security issue as described. You have a key and as far as I can see, they weren't handing out free copies on the street. Plus, your room has a lock especially for you so no worries about anyone breaking into the room. Bamberg is safe. Relax and enjoy. I also read that the breakfast was not American. Well...you're not in America. Get over it. Other also right that it isn't modernized. See my note above about being in Bamberg. Don't expect The W.

The hotel is close to EVERYTHING including Klosterbrau, a rather amazing little brewery (with great food). You are literally in the heart of it all. They also offer free WiFi and by being a registered guest, you have free access to hotspots all over town. A nice option. And the fridge in the hall has a great assortment of beer for 1 euro.

The one con that does ring true is the beds aren't exactly the most comfortable in the world. But, if you manage enough beer, then the beds aren't much of an issue. I give this hotel a 5.

Room Tip: Vist Klosterbrau across the street for great beer and food. Seriously, you have to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights with my mother. Very close to all the attractions and if you are a history buff then Bamberg is the place to go. The hotel is modest and doesnt have those litle extras that the larger hotels have. But it does offer great value for money with comfortable beds (doonas and fluffy pillows), great continental breakfast (boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fruitsalad, variety of breads), and free WiFi. It is also on the river Regnitz and my room had river views. The day I arrived it was Fathers/Mens day celebrations and groups of men enjoying the day with a few beers. I was worried about the noise but found my double windows great in blocking most of the noise. There is a pub opposite and noise can echo in the small lane. I found the street quiet late at night, but I always sleep with earplugs wen I travel.. In a nutshell if you want the spoils of a chain hotel then this may not be the place for you. But if you love authenticity, value for money and the uniqueness of an old buiding then Molitor is the place to book. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If noise may bother you then ask for quiet room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Pros: 1. The hotel is on a quiet street in the middle of Bamberg, close to everything. 2. It has a small parking garage, which is nice for a city where parking lots and spaces are hard to find. 3. It has wi-fi. 4. The staff is really nice and 5. Like most places in Germany, breakfast is included and it was good. 5. Honor bar was a deal at 1 euro for a bottle of great beer. 6. It is literally ten paces from Klosterbrau, one of the many breweries in the area.

Cons: 1. Our room could have used updating/remodeling, but it was clean and quiet. 2. The aforementioned small parking garage means exactly that, 'small'; it is really meant to accomodate teeny tiny little vehicles, but we managed with ours.

We would stay there again because we thought the price was fair for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

It was time for our biannual beer trip. Found this hotel to be in a good location and with nice welcoming staff.
A fridge in the hallway with local beer and other drinks for 1€ a bottle!
Very good breakfast.
Comfortable rooms of good size.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We arrived in the hotel after long journey and were rather tired. There were 2 workers at the reception: woman looked as Philipinas or Thailand native and 16-17 years old girl. They were talking with each other with great enthusiasm.After a short break (pfilipinas woman gave me a key and mumbled my room`s number) they renewed their talk with doubled energy. My teenager son and I (with heavy suitcases) were tying to find out our room and had obvious difficulties while reception`s workers kept chatering. It seems to me that pfilipinas woman looked at us with some irritation from time to time - we hindered these nice girls. At last we succeeded ! O-o-o!Good luck! But after 15- 20 minutes o I realized that my husband was absent too long and began to search him. There was nobody on reception,hotel`s doors were locked and my husband could not come in. He was waiting in the nearest bar.By the way,it was raining hard.!As it turned out,first he went with receptionist to look at hotel`s garage .But it did not fit him and he went to nearst garage ( 2 minutes walk). At this time receptionists locked the hotel`s doors and went home. It was - 18.30,though check in time in the hotel is 14:00 - 19:00 ,.and we were the only guests in this rainy evening
I can not say that our suite was bad. It was big and clean. Bads were comfortable and garden was nice, though without much privacy.But... It was not 2-level suite,as I expected - simply 2 rooms .It has not river view and beamed ceiling.There was not promised Wi-Fi. If I could see this suite`s foto,I should not book it. But foto of this suit absent on hotel`s site and on booking.com site

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altstadt-Hotel Molitor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt-Hotel Molitor

Address: | Obere Mühlbrücke 2-4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly in the hard of Bamberg in a very silence area. Everything of the importent parts you can catch easily by feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Altstadt-Hotel Molitor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadt-Hotel Molitor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.