We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barbarossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barbarossa to your Saves list
Hotel Barbarossa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obermarkt 8-12, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
williamstown.ma
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the center of Konstanz. The rooms are comfortable . The hotel has an elevator. The front desk speaks English. There is a good restaurant at the hotel with a nice outdoors dining area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
36
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this Hotel which was booked for us through a package, so never knew what we were going to get. Got lucky. A well situated Hotel in the centre of Konstanz, and looking at the Prices very reasonable for the area. Just had breakfast here which was good. The staff are very helpful. Had two different rooms first was good clean and comfortable, the second was a lot bigger and very comfortable. Would come back here if we came again.

Room Tip: Top floor was good room 475
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I really really like this hotel in the middle of the city, super friendly with an old charm. The only thing that I was not really excited about was breakfast with only few choices (especially with regard to cheese - come on switzerland is around the corner, you can do better than that!) and the fact that one has to pay the WIFI connection in the room extra... It was a surprise too, since when I asked for the password at the reception they did not tell me that I had to pay extra (for free one can use the PC near the restaurant...). It was not too expensive (5€ for the whole day), but still I think that nowadays this is really a normal standard and should be included (one does not pay extra for TV or hair dryer) and stated clearly if it is not !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent one night at the Barbarossa. The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful. Private parking is a five-minute walk from the hotel. Our room had a big double bed and a little seating area with a table and two chairs. We were also greeted with a complimentary bottle of water. The room overlooked the Obermarkt square. Part of the windows were beautiful colorful leadlight (?) windows.
The hotel's architecture is special. The house is very old and you can find painted walls all over the place. The breakfast is served in the green hall. This also is the restaurant. It is a beautiful old hall with colorful leadlight windows. The breakfast buffet consisted of different breads, ham and eggs, soft boiled and hard boiled eggs, jams, cereals, different spreads, cheeses, sausages, fruit salad, Bircher muesli, fruit, salmon, tea, coffee, juices,...
If you stay in Constance and you like vintage, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Front desk staff was welcoming and friendly and helpful. It was very hot and they arranged a fan for our room. We had an upgraded large corner suite which overlooked the courtyard. Dated but comfortable and the marble bathroom with double sinks, separate bath and shower was appreciated. We had a half board package. Dinner was eaten on the first floor in a lovely dining room and it was excellent on both nights. We asked for and got a window table. Breakfast was first class with two types of eggs, lots of fruit, yogurt types and many other options. Hotel is old and the floors creak but we would stay again. There was noise at night but we had all the windows open.

Room Tip: There is contruction on a new building across the street which can make for a noisy morning start. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolentino
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

the hotel was located right on the city centre, there is a parking near the hotel (pay attention because on tuesdays and fridays there is a local market there!). The hotel is historical, with very interesting interior design and ancient forniture. The room was large and clean, and so the bathroom (but with no windows).
Good breakfast with excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you want a 3 stars hotel in Konstanz old city this is a very good alternative. Historic building, excellent localization and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are big variances between the rooms types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barbarossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbarossa

Address: Obermarkt 8-12, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbarossa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At hotel Barbarossa history meets modern comforts. All of our 50 rooms are individually furnished and decorated to suit different reqirements and tastes, from general leisure guests and families, to romantic honeymooners. This diversity makes it possible for us to respond individually to the needs of our guests - no matter whether they stay short time are in transit or for several days, want to experience a dreamy getaway, or spend their family vacation at Lake Constance . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Barbarossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarossa Hotel Konstanz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barbarossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.