We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel on the Mosel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moselschloesschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moselschloesschen to your Saves list
Moselschloesschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neue Rathausstrasse 12, 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Traben-Trarbach
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel on the Mosel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Moselschlosschen is a wonderful little hotel right on the Mosel River, with an excellent restaurant and beautiful grounds. We reserved a standard room and when shown to it decided to request an upgrade--a good decision. The original room was small and out of the way with a shared balcony right off our door which we feared might get noisy at night. The new room was a huge, multi-level "junior suite" with a sitting room and very modern bath on the first level and a large bedroom with sitting area on the next level up a spiral staircase. The grounds included gardens and several sitting areas and an outdoors ice cream or coffee shop.

Room Tip: Junior suite was worth the 40 Euros extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
44
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in the hotel. Initially we booked for the villa but switched to the main building as the villa is more like the side wing of the building with sliding ceiling and facing the noisy bridge. The room in the main building is very nice and modern, and their little walk in closet is a plus.

Breakfast is fresh and service are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We only had a short time Traben and we walked to riverside to find somewhere to eat. We were not disappointed the food was good as was the service but the atmosphere was wonderful. This splendid building made us gasp with admiration.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here just visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Positioned at the edge of the Mosel River this hotel is ideally located close to the nearby bridge to the old town.. When we visited the river was very swollen which meant that the water was too high to allow boat traffic under the bridges. This hotel is multi level hotel with the spacious bedrooms rooms over looking the river. Car parking is underground with a vaulted roof. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is really a beautiful hotel. It is located in the twin town of Traben-Trarbach at a bend in the Mosel river, set a little back from but overlooking it, the older town on the far river bank, the lovely spanning bridge and its gate. The hotel seems to have been completely renovated and the decor is interesting, tasteful and artful. There are some spa facilities I think, but I did not have time to use them. There is an outside area to enjoy drinks when sunny, a wine tasting bar, and a beer bar, and it has its own restaurant. I was lucky to be upgraded, and my room had a spectacular view. The room itself was ultramodern, with walk in shower, good quality products, and modern lighting. It had a minibar, a large double bed, automatic shutters, and a flat screen tv with more stations than can be scanned in a single sitting. Free wifi was also provided. The one minor issue might be the lack of air-conditioning (well at least I could not find a control) but I have found its absence to be common in German hotels in which I have stayed. As I had only one night in the town, I decided to eat outside of the hotel and was recommended to go to Alte Zunftscheune which is less than 2 minutes from the rear entrance. That turned out to be great fun, and the restaurant is also recommended by me. Try the trout with horseradish sauce as a starter, but regardless you will be spoilt for choice from the several pages of offerings. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and consisted of a generous buffet with warm and cold food provided. The staff was without exception friendly, smiley and warm and they looked after me extremely well. In all, this is a hotel that I am happy to recommend to you and one I look forward to bringing my wife to on my next visit with her.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel as a last-minute booking, in one of the newly renovated 2-floor loft-like rooms (seemed like the room had been finished the morning before we checked in). Bathroom area was spacious and comfortable, as as the living area, and top floor where the bed was located was equally pleasant. The room had large two-floor windows overlooking a courtyard with a fountain, which was very quiet. The hotel retains some of its historic characteristics in spite of the renovation, which is a nice touch. The staff was very sweet and accommodating, serving us a generous breakfast even though we showed up after breakfast time was over (and the buffet had already been put away) and recommending various restaurants in the area. One night we had dinner at the German traditional-style restaurant just across the street from our courtyard room. Another night, we ate at the Art Nouveau-style Hotel Bellevue, just a short walk from the Moselschloesschen along the river. Both were excellent. Note that the town has an extensive collection of Art Nouveau buildings, doorways, etc., which makes for a very nice evening walk after a day of visiting winemakers.

Room Tip: Stay in a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012.

It is located overlooking the Mosel River in the old wine town of Traben.

We stayed in a newly refurbished room in the main building which was furnished with high quality modern materials and decor, and was very clean. In fact the entire hotel and grounds are very clean. The bathroom was excellent and spacious with modern quality materials and an amazing spacious shower.

The restaurant had excellent food and wine, and service was usually efficient although not perfect.

Breakfast was very good, hot and cold self service buffet and ample.

The hotel makes a great base for exploring the twin towns by foot as it is near to the bridge taking you over to Trarbach, and for taking one of the boats up the Mosel to Bernkastel from their moorings just outside the hotel. You can also drive to various vineyards/ winemakers.

The hotel has nice gardens and terraces leading down to the river, a wine tasting cellar and a bistro.

We parked easily in front of the hotel but the is a covered locked garage if you want for 6 Euro per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moselschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moselschloesschen

Address: Neue Rathausstrasse 12, 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Traben-Trarbach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Traben-Trarbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moselschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moselschlösschen is home of a 100-year-old wine trader dynasty, authenticate atmosphere located right on the Moselle Promenade, historical buildings "Fachwerkhaus," "Schlechengasse," "Villa" with 63 maisonettes/suites, park/well courtyard - the ideal setting for connoisseurs, family and business events. Regional and seasonal delights include culinary wine tasting and cooking events, bike tours, guided rambling, excursions, sporting activities, roman wine culture, history, Art Nouveau and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moselschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moselschlosschen Traben Trarbach
Moselschlosschen Hotel Traben Trarbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moselschloesschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.