We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban ski lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fire & Ice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fire & Ice to your Saves list
Hotel Fire & Ice
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Skihalle 1, 41472 Neuss, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Neuss
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Urban ski lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Fire & Ice for two nights while attending a wedding nearby. Despite a rocky start when it seemed the hotel hadn't honoured the price they'd quoted the bridal couple (we ended up reserving through a third-party site rather than directly through the hotel), we were satisfied with our stay.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. My husband enjoyed the sauna (with it's view of the indoor ski slope) and the lounge and it was great to have free parking (especially as the hotel is quite a ways outside of Neuss/Düsseldorf). The decor is almost aggressively alpine (giant photo of a skier behind the TV, lots of wood, plaid carpet), but it somehow works.

Our only complaints are that the wifi dropped out intermittently and that the €25/night pet charge is high considering our dog received no extra consideration.

With the wifi, at times one of our two devices would be connected with no problems and the other wouldn't even detect the network. It was confusing and a little frustrating, but not too big of a deal as we weren't in the room very much.

Other hotels we've stayed at with our dog (and paid pet surcharges) have provided a little something extra for their guests with pets (like a dog bed/blanket or water/food dishes). Hotel Fire & Ice didn't even offer treats and we felt like we got nothing for the €25 charge. Although the staff were friendly enough to our dog.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Laura,
thank you very much for your stay and your kind review.
Recently we updated our digital infrastructure. Now we can offer faster and more stabil internet services. Nevertheless we gave your information to our it-staff.
After a dog was in one of our rooms, our housekeepers have to clean the room in a different way. We ask for your understanding for the extra fee.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I've been staying at the Fire & Ice for almost 2 yrs now on a regular basis - mainly as we deliver trainings in the conference area.
Its one of my favorite conference hotels in Germany for the following reason:

1. it has a unique flair due to the Skiing all year round
2. the staff are super friendly and accommodating - they'll get you anything you need (like replacement stockings and a special shampoo) within 24 hours at no extra cost
3. when I arrive I receive the nicest welcome and they remember my preferences
4. the breakfast is high quality with a Bavarian theme
5. the rooms always feel like they have only recently been refurbished and the strange thing is, the hotel is already alot older than it seems
6. the beds are super comfortable
7. Everything is top notch clean, high quality and the bathrooms are wonderfully modern too
8. They have a small but good fitness room - if its not enough, you can rent bikes and go for long walks in the area. Even better, take a skiing lesson!

The location isnt good if you want to have high city life at your doorstep. If you want to be close to Autobahn though its perfect. A short taxi ride away and you can find yourself in Neuss downtown.

A secret tip is to go take a sauna - you'll soon see why!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Elisa,
thank you very, very much for your "fabulous" review. This is a great recognition for staff and encouragement for the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back, soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stay: 2 nights in June 2014.

Staff: English-speaking. Very friendly & obliging.

Room: Double-of-two-singles bed, on 2nd floor. Very quiet for sleep quality. Work desk with ample power-points and chair. Very pleasing, modern feel.
Bathroom: Plenty of room. Spacious stand-alone shower – excellent, I wish every hotel bathroom had one just like it.
Amenities: Minibar (very well stocked), safe, air-conditioning with control panel.

TV: Good-size Philips LCD TV.
TV Channels (English): CNN, BBC World News listed, but they were the only two channels that didn’t display for me.
TV Channels (Sport): Eurosport, Sport1, Sport News HD, Sky Sport HD 1.

WiFi: Free with my booking. Easy login, worked fine (no blocking).

Breakfast: 17 Euros. Very good value "all you can eat" buffet, with hot dishes, in the Slope Lounge which has large windows down one side looking onto the bottom of the ski slope, so you can watch kids skiing while you eat. Very impressive.

Location: Rather out-of-the-way, attached to a giant indoor artificial ski slope. No European city traffic and narrow streets to deal with.

Parking: Free, with ample spaces in front of hotel.

Gym: Well-equipped, with some serious dumbbells.

Rating: Lovely hotel. Only the English TV channels not working disappointed me, but not enough to deny it the Excellent rating it deserves. As enjoyable stay as I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Jaunt411,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to read, that you enjoyed the stay with us. We have informed the maintenance departement to check the tv channels. We are sorry for the inconvenience this have caused. Come back soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I can't say enough great things about this place! I went here on business, but I would definitely come back and bring the family! Let me start by saying the price was one of the best around for the rooms. When we got there, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very good sized, as well as the bathrooms. There are 2 areas to ski, lots of outside activities for children, shopping, and places to eat! Its not far from Dusseldorf, if you want to go into town. The breakfast is amazing! Lots of choices and wonderful coffee! If I get the opportunity to go back to Germany, I will stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear travlrgrl01,
thank you so much for your very kind review. We are looking forward to welcome you back, soon.
Best Regards from Neuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting a trade fair in Dusseldorf. Something completely out of the ordinary. Alpine theme in bars/restaurants begins to take you in, sit in the bar enjoying the spectator view of the ski hall for a few hours It makes you believe you are in the Alps- step outside again and you are surprised to remember you are on the outskirts of a big city. Very modern hotel ultra clean and very good staff. Recommended.

Room Tip: Standard room (not themed) was perfectly adequate for my stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Bootesville,
thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Fire & Ice and your very kind review. Come back, soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

There is so much to do here. Adventure climbing park for all ages, playground for the younger kids, bicycle hire and a beer garden. The highlight is the indoor ski plaza attached to the hotel. As a guest the daily rate is very reasonable and equally to hire the gear (bring your own gloves). Lessons are on offer for beginners and there is something for everyone. The on-site restaurant caters for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the variety is good. Staff very efficient and most speak English well. We spent a week at this hotel and it wasn't enough!

Room Tip: The family suites are lovely with bunk-beds for the kids and complimentary books and boardgames
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Ricmar60,
thank you very much for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcome you back, soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice rooms with good bed and shower al very new, nice people. The breakfast is also good, lot of choice with even fresh orange juice, fish, lots of fruit. Good restaurant with a view on the ski slope. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Hotel Fire & Ice, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Roy,
thank you very much for your kind review. We are looking forward
to welcoming you back, soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fire & Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fire & Ice

Address: An der Skihalle 1, 41472 Neuss, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Neuss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Neuss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Fire & Ice 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fire & Ice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fire & Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.