We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no negative remarks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gartenstrasse 18, 71638 Ludwigsburg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ludwigsburg
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“no negative remarks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Friendly, efficient staff, very nice and clean room with writing desk, have street side and inside rooms, garage € 7,50, which is closed at night, but will be opened for you. Normal, pretty big breakfast. Close to city centre, 5 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

10 minutes walk from the station, 5 minutes walk from the shops and 8 minutes walk from the Christmas Market.
Th hotel is small, spotless clean, warm (too warm at times) the rooms are well appointed, although there is no coffee making facilities, the bath shower room was excellent with a large walk in shower.
For us, visiting the Christmas Market, it couldn't have been bettered.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I was booked into this hotel by the conference organizers, who also paid for it directly, so I am not sure about the pricing. The hotel was okay, but it's ***, and one cannot demand too much from that. The hotel is in a side street very close to the city center and quite close to the tourist sites of Ludwigsburg, but it seems to cater more to travelling businessmen and engineers than to tourists. It is essentially a charmless, functional 70s building.

The room I was given at first was on the ground floor, tiny and dark, really depressing; I could exchange it for a fairly nice one under the roof with attic lights and thus no view, but spacy and friendly. Functional furniture, a simple bathroom; maintenance very well done (this is Swabia). One of my main problems, as I had a cold, was that they turn off the heat during the night to save energy, but I was given, with no qualms, an additional portable heater the next morning. I did like that Internet is for free, as are German land-line phone-calls; for foreigners who bring their cellphones, that can result in some serious savings. The minibar is not extortionist, which is unusual, i.e. prices are about double than what it would cost in a nearby supermarket, and that's fair. Breakfast was definitely nice for *** if not spectacular; not much local or fresh stuff, but good bread. I did get a bathrobe for free when I asked. Female staff was uniformly friendly; the male concierge, unusual for the area, was not and seemed bothered by guests and their requests.

Altogether, the stay was okay, but I just prefer hotels that are a bit more upscale. However, the Favorit is what it is, and if you get what you pay for, and if you don't pay too much, I guess it can be recommended. For a fun stay in Ludwigsburg, I would try something else though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfavorit, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Aethelred,
thank you very much for your rating. Please note that our hotel is built in 1995. This summer we will completely renew our lobby, the breakfast restaurant and lots of bathrooms. We would appreciate to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The overal impression was not very good because my single room was TOO small. Apart from that, staff was very good, breakfast was very good (more than I could expect from a not-so-big hotel) and everything was clean. More spacious bathroom with better amenities could be nice. TV was an old CRT but not bad. On the whole, a nice business hotel as long as you can get a double for single use. And the location is quiet but with a 3 minute walk you're in the city center! Note that, as always in Germany, internet is not cheap!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfavorit, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear menelaos1983, thank you very much for your rating. Please mind that instead of a room of our "classic category" you could have booked one of our "business" or "deluxe category" rooms, which are more spacious and equipped with brand new high-definition flat screen TVs. Since January 2011 we also provide FREE WiFi for our guests. We would appreciate to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

The rooms at Hotel Favorit were simple, clean, and furnished nicely. We had an extra single bed in the room for my son and there was still enough room to move about comfortably. The bathroom was in the room, with a shower. The location was good - just a few blocks from the square where the Christmas market is held and a little further from the palace. Also within easy walking distance of the train station, even when carrying a couple of bags. There was some street noise but I
always travel with earplugs, so it didn't bother me. The beds were okay. I was very hot at night and found myself in an all or nothing situation. It was a heavy down comforter or nothing. Our room was on the low side of high priced. Had we had more of a chance to look around before dark, we probably would have chosen another hotel. The real downside of this hotel I believe to be the staff who, with one notable exception, were unfriendly and somewhat discourteous. The exception was Hedi (hay-dee) who told me she only works every other weekend, so you are far more likely to get one of the other front desk
staff or owners. When I took laundry up to the front desk as instructed I was told to bring it back later. Since I didn't even open my mouth before they told me this, they didn't realize that I speak enough German to know that as I gathered up my wash they were making fun of me for bringing it up without a bag. There was no bag in the room, so whatever...

It is often said that Americans assume everyone speaks English. I am not such an American and believe that no one should assume that an American speaks only English. It is rude and offensive to mock someone
right to their face and assume they are unable to understand what you are saying.

I don't think we will stay here again, particularly now that we have re-familiarized ourselves with the town and saw quite a few other options. Had it been a real bargain, I might have been more willing to let the comments go, but when you have high rates, I expect your facility to earn them.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg

Address: Gartenstrasse 18, 71638 Ludwigsburg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ludwigsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ludwigsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
„Right in the heart of Ludwigsburg, yet located on a calm side street …“Our team welcomes you to the beautiful baroque city of Ludwigsburg. Our hotel is located on a calm side street but only minutes away from the lively city centre, central station, marketplace, and all the beautiful historical sights, such as the 300-year-old grand baroque Residence Castle. Enjoy your stay in one of our 88 modern and comfortable rooms – all equipped with telephone/voicemail, mini bar, and cable TV. Feel free to use our complimentary Internet terminal in the lobby, or go online with your own notebook via free Wi-Fi, which is available everywhere in our hotel. After a long day, you might relax in our hotel bar, which is open for drinks all night long, or use our new soft-steam sauna with light-therapy. Furthermore, we offer a conference room for up to 20 persons, underground parking, and bus parking in front of the building.Start your day in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere with our grand breakfast buffet, a freshly brewed cappuccino or café latte, and your newspaper of choice, hot off the press.Can we get you anything else…? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Favorit Ludwigsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.