We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really desapointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TOP Hotel Ritter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TOP Hotel Ritter to your Saves list
TOP Hotel Ritter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 2, 79410 Badenweiler, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Badenweiler
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Really desapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I went to Badenweiler, by the way a very nice and charming small village, for a business trip.
Clearly not the standard of a 4 star hotel, not even 3 stars.
Apart from the size of the rooms, everything is old fashionned and service is poor.
We were surprised to understand that breakfast was only at 7:30 and at night, restaurant closes at 9pm.
It was snowing but nothing was done to prevent difficult movements ; as the parking is dangerous to park in (important slope) and I fell down.
Cleaning of the room is inexistent (old and dirty carpets everywhere) and as the owners actually smoke inside the hotel, it was clearly smelling bad in the lobby.

I am not mad at this hotel, but you'd better get carefull ! And the owners should spend a little money refurbishing and training their staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The problems started at Check-In. Having paid for a 4 day package with a travel firm, it was disappointing to be shown to an inferior room with no balcony as opposed to a superior room with balcony as booked. The disinterested Manager said a room change would be "very difficult" although the hotel was less than half full. Another room was eventually found but I was offered no help in moving my luggage despite the staff being able to see that I had difficulty walking.
I enquired at Reception about Internet access and was offered a voucher for EUR 17 per day without being told that access was available directly in the room for just EUR 9 per day.
I was offered an upgrade to half board for EUR 20 per day but with no flexibility to purchase for 3 of the 4 days - difficult to understand as I had already eaten on the day of arrival.
Breakfast was plentiful but of poor quality - tasteless coffee and rubbery eggs.
Public areas were OK but my room was outdated, tired with stained carpets. Not up to 4 Star standard, more like a 2 Star.

Room Tip: Try rolling the dice, you won't get much help from the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

October 2011--I booked online and requested a room with a view. It was lovely! We had room 24 with the elevator just outside our door and a huge terrace overlooking the hills and at bight, the lit up Roman ruins on the hillside.

The room was large with a sitting area and a small TV...no wireless though and we would have liked that although not entirely necessary--just used to being able to quickly look things up in the area when we need to rather than asking the staff at reception.

The breakfast was more than plentiful and fresh. My only disappointment was rather weak cappuccino and coffee both from an automatic machine.

The wellness area of the hotel was well-kept with a small indoor pool and jacuzzi as well as a sauna, steam room and all sorts of services. I had 30 minutes of foot reflexology and Victor had a massage and both were very good and reasonably priced. This was much calmer than the town's public therme (Cassopieia?). I went there with a friend and it was a bit complicated--vouchers for this, different receipts for that, extra charges to use the steam and sauna areas and VERY crowded on the Saturday afternoon we were there. Think lots of little kids with arm floaties in the jacuzzi with their parents and no place to be in the warmer inside pool without someone else a foot or two away from you. for an extra 5>50 Euro I even got to sit thigh to thigh with 20 or more other people packed into the sauna. NOT relaxing at all and made me really appreciate Sole Uno in Rheinfeldon which I find much nicer. Going on a Saturday though to any thermal baths is something I will avoid in the future. Better to go for 2-3 hours during the week or at night. The hotel wellness area was far better for me...smaller but much more relaxing and with better services.

The hotel was in a great location just beside hotel Romerbad and an easy walk to the restaurants. Our best meal was at the local Winestuebe (not sure of the name but on the right hand side as you walk into town with a pretty wooden carved relief of grapes, wine barrel etc. just next to a bank and near the big red church) melts off the bone rabbit dish served with white sauerkraut and spaetzle. That and some local wine at a shared table made for a very lovely and social evening. The place was warm and friendly and it looked like that was the place to be as the hotel restaurants we looked into were mostly empty and this place was packed. Excellent food and service so we quickly understood why.

Overall a nice quick getaway weekend for us. Had it not rained, there looked to be a lot of excellent walks and hikes also in the area and the hillsides of vineyards with ruins scattered here and there was very picturesque.

Room Tip: We liked room 24 just in front of the elevator and with a large terrace and view to the hills and Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

This review is from summer of 2008. Badenweiler is a heavenly spot on Earth with outdoor concerts and fantastic views over the area from the top of the ancient castle. Top Hotel Ritter provided a great stayover on our way to France from Denmark - nice rooms, great wellness area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TOP Hotel Ritter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Ritter

Address: Friedrichstrasse 2, 79410 Badenweiler, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Badenweiler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Badenweiler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP Hotel Ritter 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLASSIFICATION:MEMBER OF TOP INTERNATIONAL HOTELS OHG - Superior First Class Hotel Official 4****Star Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TOP Hotel Ritter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOP Hotel Ritter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.