We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schwarzmatt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schwarzmatt Hotel to your Saves list
Schwarzmatt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwartzmattstrasse 6A, 79410 Badenweiler, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Badenweiler
Badenweiler, Germany
2 reviews
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the most fantastic hotel experiences I've ever had anywhere in Europe. Beautiful, immaculate, wonderful service and delicious food. The staff goes out of their way to make everything extra special.Many things to do like hiking, bicycling, visiting an 11th century castle and so much more. I can't wait to come back here and hopefully for a longer stay.

Room Tip: They all seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Right at the start, super friendly service ..... When was the last time a waitress asked you to make sandwich from the sumptous breakfast buffet for your onward trip on departure day and brought a bag from the kitchen? The place sure is a trip back in time, every thing is spotless, the rooms are spacious although a bit over decorated, we are both retired but still managed to lower the average age quite a bit. The location is perfect for tasting the stupendous Pinot Noirs from the local vineyards and don't forgett the delicious whites. Colmar in France is just a few Km's away, the Blackforest virtually behind the house. Dinner if you take half pension is only € 20 a virtual steal. We loved the place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartselaar,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Between Freiburg and Basel, close to the highlights of the Schwarzwald (Black Forest), and in the midst of vineyards, orchards and forests, you’ll discover Badenweiler, a place already discovered by the Romans who built there thermal baths. The present Thermae are also splendid, but the most nice place in this very attractive village with a lot of Art Nouveau houses is certainly Hotel Schwarzmatt. We have been there for many years now, and each stay is a feast, making you wishing that the next visit may come soon. Very comfortable rooms, very good food, a nice bar and sitting room for the cold days or to call it a day, a large (inhouse) pool with soothing water and an excellent wellness area, a nice and sunny terrace to spend your day the lazy way and/or to dine “al fresco” after a long hiking day, with very colourfull terrace gardens, everything meticulously well-kept, contribute to a luxurious feeling of well being even after 24 hours after arrival. And the cherry on the cake is the excellent service provided by all the staff of the hotel, always with a friendly smile, nothing is asked too much, and this includes the managing owner, Frau Rona Mast, who is a real member of and an example for her very professional team.
One warning however for the Anglo-Saxon and Latin (including French) visitors to this house (and nearly all other hotels in Germany, Switzerland and Austria, and also all public sauna’s in Belgium and Holland) : in the wellness area you will probably discover a specimen unfamiliar to you, i.e. the homo sapiens nudus, but well known troughout Scandinavia, Russia and the Dutch and German speaking parts of Europe. Try to share their experience and take a sauna or steambath without swimming suits, it’s much better to enjoy the beneficial effects of these baths, as you will discover rapidly.
Stay there at least for 3 nights and probably that you will also become a regular visitor, whereby you probably may wish to call Badenweiler and its surroundings after some time a second “heimat” and hotel Schwarzmatt your second home !

Room Tip: Rooms oriented to the south are lighter and with the comfortable chairs on your balcony will allow y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I loved this place. I also love an embroidered cushion cover and a tweed jacket. I was looking for a last minute spa hotel on the German Swiss border and having searched for five hours (I'm very picky) we arrived at dinner time on Friday to be greeted by lovely, lovely staff and a very floral hotel. It's chintz all the way which I know won't be to some people's tase and to be brutally honest the bathrooms could do with updating - the cappuccino suite does take you whizzing back to a Sunday afternoon at yours nan's sometime in the late 1970s. The waiting staff are an absolute dream, nothing is too much trouble, the hotel spa is very lovely, but we preferred to walk the ten minutes to the local Cassiopeia Therme which was incredible considering it's a 'public' bath.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Ok. If I have to be critical I would say that this hotel is not quite ideal for young couples or those with children - there are few activities on offer at the hotel or in the general vicinity that would attract those who stay for longer than a few days. For our group the location was ideal as it was convenient for the wheelchair bound to go around the building and the town. Most of the clientelle were affluent retirees enjoying the peace and comfort.

In terms of service, it is wonderful, room cleanliness is spot on, the whole building -even the car park was clean. Staff courteous and respectful, very helpful. Food was excellent and plentiful. Did not try the spa or sauna this time, but the pool is on the small side for the able swimmers (but then again no children to spoil the peace),

Location wise- it's easy to find, and to get into Badenweiler town is easy.

If I had a suggestion I would say there is more the hotel can do to attract younger people, but I would guess demand is insufficient for that (a nordic walking event was publicized - only we went only to find the leader/group had left already without us).

But it is a fabulous hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I only had a short stay at this property but ever since I left I've been wanting to go back! The hotel itself was lovely, the service excellent. The welcome gifts in the room of snacks etc was appreciated. Small hotel, it really feels family owned and operated. You feel like a guest in their house. Food and service in the restaurant was great. Nice small town with lots of walking around you can do. I wish I had a longer stay there, can't wait to go back. Apparently their afternoon tea is well known to be delicious and they bake all their own goodies in house. Would be great for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I just spent four nights in this beautiful hotel, which is an interesting blend of old and new. Family-owned, this property prides itself on service and they have every right to do so. First, the property in general and our room were immaculate. Upon check-in, we found a present of wine, fruit and gift-wrapped straciatella muffins. The beautifully decorated restaurant didn't disappoint either. Anything we needed, from information to service needs was handled immediately and cheerfully. A wonderful stay. The hotel offers a spa, indoor swimming and sauna, as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schwarzmatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzmatt Hotel

Address: Schwartzmattstrasse 6A, 79410 Badenweiler, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Badenweiler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Badenweiler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schwarzmatt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schwarzmatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schwarzmatt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.