We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hostel and perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Treyarnon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Treyarnon to your Saves list
YHA Treyarnon
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Treggonan | Trayarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JR, England (Formerly Treyarnon Bay Youth Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly hostel and perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Treyarnon Bay was our childhood summer holiday destination, so I've always loved it. The hostel looks out over the sea and would be amazing in warmer weather (I went in January) - but was still great in winter.

What's good about it:
Super friendly staff. Clean rooms / bathrooms / kitchen. Log fire for when it's chilly. Nice selection of booze at the bar. Excellent views. Good for the budget. Comfy beds.

What's not so good:
Nothing really - you know it's a hostel so it can be noisy at times and you might have to share showers and toilets - but they're cleaned daily so it's not a worry. If you don't like people and expect a minion to make your bed, bring you fluffy towels and do your washing up then go somewhere else. For everyone else, this place is ace.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or room 2 if you want the best view in Treyarnon Bay! (No ensuite bathrooms but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the hostel in a group and had a fabulous stay. The rooms had plenty of space, and ours had a panoramic sea view (room 6). A great cooked breakfast to start the day, excellent coastal walks on the doorstep of the hostel and a warm welcome from the staff. A very far cry from communal washing up and sleeping bag sheets! We went for half board which was great value.

Room Tip: Room 6 had an excellent view. Radiators weren't working when we were there, but it was perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just hired the whole hostel for a hen weekend. was amazing. Great space and location. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Would really recommend this hiring it out for a special occasion.

Only downside is some of the radiators did't work but they kept the fire going for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

As the title says, I've somehow managed to make it to this stage in my life and successfully avoided staying at youth hostels. However I was pleasantly surprised. In our final stage of our trip friends had booked this place due to a last minute cancellation. We were going there with 6 other families and their children and had sole use of the property. I think this probably made it more enjoyable knowing that it was only friends and family. My family shared one room with bunk beds and a double bed with ensuite. It was a bit like being back at school. It was a bit basic but fun for a couple of nights so we all had lashings of fun. The location is brilliant, the view from the dining tables was just fantastic. Watching the waves rolling in as we had our breakfast. The beach is just a stones throw. We did self catering and this worked well with all the families contributing. My only small constructive comment would be to supply a fee paying washing machine for residents to use as there are a multitude of muddy ponds for children to fall into around there. Handwashing 4 sets of mud covered clothing each day was not the high point of my stay but apart from that, it comes highly recommended even by me - the youth hostel virgin. However my husband did say he thought it was very posh for a youth hostel so i have to take his word for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a Youth Hostel, so don't expect five star luxury, but you do get a five star welcome and fantastic beer.

It can be a bit tricky to find. On a dark night it can be easy to end up on the steep road down to the beach... ignore the beach road and drive along the track just to the left of the campsite entrance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The best location; ever.Although a youth hostel with basic rooms; some are double or family rooms with en-suite. Comfortable and quiet. Superb and well priced food;far superior to food I have had in any other hostel. Licensed bar with excellent range of local beers.There seemed to be nothing that was too much trouble for the staff; very friendly and helpful. Very regular music events. Surfing within yards of the front door. Wonderful walking from the front door. Views to die for. Perfect, perfect
Open all over Christmas with open fire. Cafe / bistro / bar was open all day and evening. Staff amazingly welcoming.
DOG FRIENDLY CAFE / BAR

Room Tip: On e of the most beautiful family beaches within yards of the hostel. Surfing, swimming, rock pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

we called into the YHA and immediately met the chef, manager, Buddy and all round good guy through the window of the kitchen!... we couldn't get in because we had no key code.
after check in which was simple, we had a cuppa tea.... the best!
Room, although small was clean and adequate... after all it's a place to lay our heads.
Wi-fi available to members and 2 or 3 computers available to general use.....
We're here for the night and have breakfast included in our £33.00. Glad we bought and renewed membership. Breaker review tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Treyarnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Treyarnon

Address: Treggonan | Trayarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JR, England (Formerly Treyarnon Bay Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Treyarnon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Treyarnon Bay we offer a relaxed youth hostel experience with a beach-side pub feel. We are currently offering meals from 10am until 8:30pm seven days a week and our bar is open from 10am until 10:30pm offering Cornish ale, lager and cider on tap.We are literally a stone’s throw from one of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall and are very proud to support our local community.We also offer group breaks and young people’s activity holidays, as well as business and corporate breaks and functions.We have plenty of parking and field we use for camping or wedding activities.Looking forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your YHA Treyarnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treyarnon Bay Youth Hotel St Merryn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Treyarnon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.