We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves

Waves
Crossroads, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8NP, England
1841520501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in St Merryn
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful feeling this restaurant has, the staff are fantastic, food lovely, good prices and full stars from us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had the Fillet Steak from the 'Specials board' for £17.95. The steak tasted nice enough but was the size of a 4oz Birdseye burger and was served with what appeared to be microwave chips and a single pile of rocket - nothing else! When we mentioned to the waitress that we weren't impressed were told that the steak cost a lot to buy in. Will find another restaurant for future nights out in St Merryn.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good quality food in a lively venue at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good quality and distinctive dishes at a reasonable price served by friendly and attractive staff. Compares very favorably with more well known eateries (in nearby Padstow for instance).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited Waves Restaurant whilst staying at Treglos Hotel following our wedding on the 6th April. I can't think of anything negative to say about the place! We had a warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door, great service throughout our meal and they even boxed up the rest of our pizza we couldn't manage :) We wanted a more chilled out evening on our second night and Waves provided that, the place had a really nice buzz about it. The food was also great, would definitely recommend. Oh and the nachos are AMAZING, don't miss out! :D

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited Wave on Friday 26 October. The service was extremely slow (15 mins at least before we could order drinks). After another 30 minutes the starter arrived. I had the Camembert with thyme and honey which was very good. Another 45 mins later the main course arrived. My wife's fillet steak was excellent, but my grilled plaice was cold and not properly cooked. The waitress did offer to redo the order but after an hour and a half I could not have waited any longer. What was a real pity was that no apology was offered by the chef. Let's hope this was a one-off as it takes forever to restore customer confidence.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waves also viewed

St Merryn, Padstow
 

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.