We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and peaceful brilliant for families.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Merryn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8SL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful brilliant for families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been three times now to mother iveys bay. My husband went every year as a child.so did his mother and siblings and grandparents. Such a beautiful site brilliant for families of all ages. No loud music no clubs pubs on site etc. Staff are really friendly and so are all the other guests. Close to the beach and local towns. Mother iveys bay has become our holiday destination for many
years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    19
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
88
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bacup, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We`ve been going to Mother Iveys for about 20 years maybe we`ve missed three times in all..but this year had to book somewhere else due to family problems which meant going late in the year as Mothey Iveys was full...Hated it and really missed this site...yes its expensive but its superb and five star and in all these years never found the staff to be anything other than friendly and helpful... and theres the beach if you want to sunbathe...lots of walks across the cliffs either to Harlyn or Constantine or the Lighthouse and near enough to Padstow for shopping etc......the positives of the site far outweigh the negatives ..the gardens are lovely and well maintained.....good shop...great dog exersize area... and the standard of the static caravans is superb....last time we went the site housekeeper called to see if everything was satisfactory...love it cant wait for next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

MIB is by far the best site we have ever visited. It is in a beautiful location with 3 great beaches within walking distance, great waves for body boarding & the coastal path to blow the cob webs away. The site is well managed. The flower beds are always lovely & the walled pitches covered in flowers finish it off nicely.
We visited for our much anticipated 2nd visit at the end of July, arriving just before schools broke up for the summer holidays. Which was our mistake! It was a bit chaotic for our liking but would be great for family's with children as they are safe to run wild & make friends. The play park is really good & we'll made.
The shower blocks weren't as clean as our previous visit, but it was peak season & the park was full & the staff were working hard to keep on top of it. The shop is well stocked & there are always fresh bakery items.
Of course we will be back, we will remember to avoid school holidays next time but still love it here & will continue to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Mother Iveys for several years now and have camped, static caravaned and motorhomed and we LOVE it.

Each time we go to another site we end up making comparisons to MIB and not one has matched up in our eyes.

Brian the site manager is fantastic and the rest of his site team are lovely with an exception... Keep reading!!

We booked to stay in June of this year and we had friends travel to join us from Ireland. After an 8 hr journey we arrived to find that our allocated pitch was occupied. We are reasonable folk so we offered to relocate. The girl that dealt with this (Scottish) was so lovely.

However when we returned the next morning to finalise with the reception our move, we were greeted by an older lady who was unbelievably rude to the point she made the other lass on reception squirm in her seat and made me feel quite embarrassed. We were actually made feel that it was our fault that someone had overstayed their holiday!!

The on-site shop is brilliant and the staff super friendly. For a site shop it's so well stocked and reasonably priced. There is fresh bakery every day and hot pasties
about lunchtime.

The site itself is so clean and well maintained with really generous pitches. It has deluxe pitches that look brilliant - partially walled, own water and electricity hook up and picnic table.

The ablutions block has large family shower rooms and I've not ever had a problem getting a shower free. They are always clean and fresh. It also has a good sized laundry room with washers, dryers and iron.

The views along the lower end of the site are stunning with a beautiful private beach. In good weather you could have been in the med or south of France.

What I love about this site is that whilst it's a family site it is lovely and quiet at night. There is a great wee children's park in the meadows that my son adored!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone and will definitely be back several times next year.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Brighton & Hove
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Access to a lovely private beach during the daytime. Fair sized pitches. When we were there all the showers (I tried) were overflowing so you were left standing in still water at the end. No major complaints, but having seen conflicting reviews about the staff, all I can add to that, is that the office staff were reasonably pleasant but their attitude seemed focussed slightly more on red tape and profit than goodwill or any noticeable genuine concern for customers problems. Although very helpful, friendly chap in the shop who made up for that. Very well maintained grounds. Prim and proper. A couple of nice pubs within half an hours walk or so too :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at Mother Ivey's Bay for two weeks. The location is unrivalled & the private beach is beautiful. The 'super' pitches were spacious & close to the washing up/shower areas. Some major gripes: terrible phone reception, very over-priced WiFi which is flaky at best & unavailable in many areas of the campsite, a camp shop which opens too late at 8am & laundry facilities which require £1 coins with no change machine in sight.
On balance, I would return as the location is one of the best in North Cornwall. I am a runner & the site is great for lone running. Also well located for local restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for a birthday camping weekend with friends.

After a long drive down from London we arrived early Friday morning and were greeted with a rather sterile cold welcome from the staff.

The site is large with lots of families and although reasonably clean we noted that the bins were full a lot of the time with junk that people leaving had left, such as old bbq's and body boards.

One morning we needed a taxi into town and after finding out there was no mobile signal we asked the receptionist if they would call one for us. We were sternly advised that there was a signal on the hill outside the park. Thanks.

During the stay we also noticed the showers were not particularly clean and also not always hot.

The day of our friends birthday we noticed that there was a white board outside the office with messages on at around 4pm. I asked the receptionist if we could put a note on there wishing our friend a happy birthday, as others had for there friends and relatives. I was quickly advised, again in a cold manner that it was due to be wiped off at 6pm so there was no point. Thanks again.

So all in all, a nice place spoiled by poor customer service and grubby in places. Not really worth the money and probably will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park

Address: St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Hotel Class:4 star — Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mother Ivey`s Bay Holiday Park Hotel St Merryn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.