We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Retreat Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Retreat Villas to your Saves list
Bay Retreat Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   St Merryn Holliday Village, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Southborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I won a competition to stay at this development and was not disappointed.

The Villa inside is very light and airy and furnished with modern furniture to a high standard. The kitchen had every conceivable utensil in it, plenty of glasses and crockery. There was a nice small area of decking out the back with a bit of lawn and just enough to enjoy a nice breakfast outside in the morning. The location of Bay Retreat is perfect to enjoy the lovely North Cornish coastline to with many fabulous beaches on its doorstep. There is a small convenience store on site which stocks enough for a break and is just a minutes walk away. A perfect place for a break down in this past of the country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just back from a 4 night break, wonderful 30* sunshine. Stayed in villa 18, very clean and tidy.Bed linen good quality, so were our soft fluffy towels.The kitchen had everything you need and more.The small back decking and lawn were nice to sit out on, plus the front block paved own parking space was ideal.All electric, heating, shower etc is included in the price so no nasty extras to find. I read some previous reviews stating in need of better upkeep - our villa was fine, maybe we were just lucky. Yes there were a few faults, like a broken hook to hold open the French doors, but I can live with petty things....after all you are staying for a holiday so you don't spend 24/7 there.I hope to visit again took my 81 year old Mum too. The downstairs Loo was very nice and good if a few of you stay together. We love Cornwall and visit often, 3 times in last 12 months - this is a good area for beaches, Harlyn Bay only 5 mins drive, also Padstow, Wadebridge, Bodmin and Newquay quite close. Please give it a whirl !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 4 day break at these beautifully equipped villas on a girly break all in our mid 40's away from hubby's for a well deserved long weekend. Have to say weather a big plus as 25º every day and up with the birds 6.30 each morning scrambled eggs and tea cannot fault quality apart from unfortunate accident with bed cheap ikea and collapsed to floor one morning as slats broke and trust me not a big unit ! However that aside all good very spacious rooms and hanging space. Definitely need a car st Merryn just a mile away but not safe to walk local cab a fiver try cornish arms great food and extensive reasonable menu. Decided to avoid rick Stein in Padstow as heard overpriced so went to paul ainsworth what a smart decision staff excellent treated like royalty and invited into kitchen after meal to meet paul, what a down to earth top bloke def recommendation. Also watergate bay a must and the hotel serves fantastic cream tea with lashings of clotted cream and yet again superb attentive staff. Overall a fab stay and tried to book bay retreat villas for exmas but already full so speaks for itself.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Like others we arrived to find our keys in the box and didn't see any staff the whole week. The accommodation was clean but lacked character and was in need of some tlc - several lights didn't work, the front door had warped so you had to wrestle it open and closed, the catches on the French doors were broken. Overall we did enjoy our stay, it was nice to have a garden, albeit very small, where we could relax with the dog but our villas backed on to the 'main' road which was quite busy with cars and people passing so it didn't feel very private. I'm pleased to say we had our full deposit returned as we did clean and hoover before we left. The location was excellent as you are so close to many dog friendly beaches and places to visit, Padstowe is just a short drive away. It's a shame I can't give a higher rating as with a little tlc, better towels, a few extra items like hand soap, a lick of paint then these villas would be lovely and more akin to the photos that advertise them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A pleasant stay in a well equipped villa. I was surprised that although we arrived at 5pm there was no one to meet us but we found the key box without any problem. In fact the only member of staff we saw was the maintenance man who very promptly replaced the 6 light bulbs which weren't working. The villas are very pleasant, the rooms downstairs felt rather bare, upstairs which is carpeted felt much cosier.
The villa was clean and is pretty well equipped- even a decent hair dryer. Check the inventory as there were odd numbers of glasses, plates etc.
The mobile phone signal was better upstairs and data access (when you could get it) was very slow.
The weekend was so cold and windy that we didn't use the outside space. We didn't have any problems with noise.
Dishwasher tablets are supplied but theres nothing else in the kitchen - there are salt and pepper pots but they are empty.
A nice place, well equipped but rather soulless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my wife, in April 2013. It was booked as a cheap deal after a Travelzoo email. An evening meal at a hotel just outside Newquay was included in the price.
The site is about three miles or so inland from Padstow. It has a number of tidy well kept mobile homes, some of which appear to be permanent residences on and around the site.
The 'villas' are in a square group with a central communal area. There is a carparking space provided with each unit. There is a club/bar and a small well stocked supermarket on the site.
We found the accomodation to be more than adequate, with a well equiped and good sized kitchen. It would be perfectly adequate for a small family.
Dogs are welcome and an exercise area is provided close to the entrance.
Because of an error on my part we arrived one day early. This proved no problem to the on-site manager who had a spare unit and let us move into it straight away. We were then given the option of retaining the two nights or extending it to three.
The £100 deposit was refunded after our stay with no problems.
I would use it again.

Room Tip: These are small self catering villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked a 3 night break including " fine dining" through Travelsmith. On arrival we collected our keys from a key box .It is a cul de sac of 30 newly built houses facing towards each other with a small central green area, although what the pictures don't show is that the development is part of quite a large holiday complex, so is surrounded by lots of bungalow type holiday homes, so you are overlooked both front and back. It does however mean that there are more facilities with an on site convenience store, fish and chip shop and Clubhouse/bar, none of which is apparent in the brochure. The property we stayed in (no.17) was absolutely spotlessly clean, very warm and excellently well equipped,even had hair dryers in both bedrooms. We have had no problem having our £100 deposit returned.
In summary for the price we paid (£79 Per person) the "villa" was excellent as a comfortable, clean base to explore the surrounding area. However I would imagine in high season it's not very private and you absolutely need a car to get about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Retreat Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Retreat Villas

Address: St Merryn Holliday Village, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Retreat Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Retreat Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Retreat Villas Hotel St Merryn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Retreat Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.