We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Accomodation and a Good Value Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Retreat Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Retreat Villas to your Saves list
Bay Retreat Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   St Merryn Park, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Very Nice Accomodation and a Good Value Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We took advantage of a special offer 3-day weekend break which included dinner at a local restuarant and a visit to the Eden Project - excellent value for money. The accomodation is contemporary, clean, and very well equipped. There was nothing to complain about (except perhaps the hideously uncomfortable, wipe-clean sofa). The location is a little remote. You'll need a car to get anywhere 'off site'. We did not try the on-site bar and restaurant facilities. The small villa complex seems to have been built in the middle of a much older holiday park built with slightly shabby 1950's style pre-fab villas. Most of these seem to be permananently occupied by local residents, although a few are clearly seasonal rentals.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I won't repeat what has already been said about this accommodation except to endorse how uncomfortable the sofa is and thats just sitting on it !

We found it to be very good value with a three course meal at Beaucliffe's Restaurant (worth £30 each) and entrance to the Eden Project (£18 each) included. We also took advantage of an extra night for £20 total not each.
Travelsmith the owners also offer a 40% discount on breaks at any of their seven other properties in the area taken in 2011

Ideal for visiting Cornwall, with Padstow, Port Isaac (home of Doc Martin TV series) and the Eden Project all nearby. The Eden Project must be the jewel however, a tip visit the Mediteranean sphere before the Tropical one for the best impact. Fish and Chips at Rick Stein's in Padstow is good value.

Dogs are allowed. However the downstairs area is laminated flooring and our elderly German Shepherd found it to be rather slippery.
Eden Project is also dog friendly with an airy covered parking area for visitors with dogs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Can't fault the accommodation. It was modern, clean, comfortable and very well equiped. You would certainly need a car if you stayed here. It is 1½ miles from St Merryns Village and I would not recommend the walk, which is along a narrow bendy road which was both dangerous and boring.
It is set in a "holiday village" which was souless. As long as you don't require entertainment or a shop, it is a good place to stay.
The lack of any internet connection was the only downside, if you need access whilst on holiday.
We had an excellent few days here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Brand new modern accommodation with all the amenities including freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and a downstairs toilet which is very useful if you're sharing with a lot of friends/family. Everything you can think of was provided including washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and T-towells, flat screen TV and DVD player.

Easy to get to Padstow, Boscastle, Tintagel, motorway etc so location was perfect.

The only one thing is that the towel rail in the bathroom was boiling and dangerous - my friend burnt her arm and was sore for days. Apart from that I cannot fault the accommodation/amenitites.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Good location for '7 bays in 7 days'. Beaches are great. Other places visited within a 30 min drive Eden Project, Port Isaac, Crealy. Cornish Arms pub just around the corner good food but be prepared to wait.
The villa was very clean, however towels were well worn and one had a rust stain on it (we paid £1100 to stay a week and no fresh towels or bed linen offered). We arrived at a reasonable time of 4pm and had to pick up keys from a safe in smelly bin store, more personal greeting would have been nice. There were 5 of us and our son was given the bed settee, after the first nite he refused to sleep on it again and chose to put cushions on the floor for more comfort! We couldnt find sky sports on tv (scrambled) and everytime we went to reception no-one was there. The kitchen had french doors which we used as our main route in and out of the villa but on one of the days the down wind from the bin store (opposite us) filled the villa with the fragrant smell of garbage.
Bathroom was described as 'luxury' but it was a bog standard suite with cheap shower i guess the luxury was the wall mounted towel radiator.
This accomodation should be for no more than 4 people due to the awful bed settee and small four seater dining table. No coffee machine or WIFI either, a few more homely items to warm the place up ie, a clock! and some local maps and information would have been nice. For the price we paid I feel that we should have received abit more pampering from the owners, however we had a great holiday, may I suggest that the week we paid be reduced by at £300 to match the weeks either side of our booking unless daily maid service is offered and at least one contact with caretaker staff during premium August week. We never bothered with the surrounding camp facilities due to poor reviews on trip advisor that we had read prior to departure. Mobile phone black spot also we only got signal from balcony so make your calls in the town,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Spent 3 nights here on a deal from Travelzoo. The accommodation is quite well equipped but the surroundings are souless - no views at all from either the balcony of the master bedroom or the deck and garden. Inside the decor is cold - magnolia walls and brown roller blinds and plasitic furniture. It all needs softening. We had stayed prviously at Greenacres - definitely a cut above.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Was a little concerned after reading the last review. Arrived and picked up keys from the bin store, not grotty at all. Villa was very clean, great layout, modern and everything you needed. Couple of nice little touches such as some tea, coffee, milk sachets on arrival, just to let you have a quick brew before stocking up. Living room and kitchen all one open plan area, with modern dishwasher and washer/dryer, takes some of the hassle away. Downstairs loo and storage space made up the down stairs. Unit was bright and light with through windows with roller blinds if you didnt want the world looking in.

Double bedroom had some walkout velux windows, neat never seen them before great little feature opening on to weeny balcony. Upstairs bathroom was well laid out with electric over bath shower. Also had electric towel rail, be careful with small kids gets how and right next to sink not the best positioning. Can switch it off if you need too.

Totally agree with the previous review the sofa downstairs is aweful, I bet who ever choose them regrets it.

Villa is in a small courtyard, with bungalows around, much better than say a caravan site.

Location is fantastic few minutes drive to the village which has the Cornish Arms one of Rick Steins buisnesses. Padstow is just a little further, 6 or so miles, with plenty of carparking but expensive. If you get the chance visit constantine bay, great for rockpooling and bodyboarding, also has free carparking if your early enough, or visit in an evening.

You need transport to make this place work, its not a holiday village in the sense of having loads of on site accomodation. But an excellant base for a great place to visit, in a modern, well equiped villa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Retreat Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Retreat Villas

Address: St Merryn Park, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Retreat Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Bay Retreat Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Retreat Villas Hotel St Merryn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Retreat Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.