We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast lets the stay down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   just off the A1, Beamish DH9 0YB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast lets the stay down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay and paid for the upgraded room with champagne dinner and breakfast. The room was very nice as was the champagne. Couldn't fault the staff who were spot on. Dinner in the stables Restaurant was also very nice. All told a really nice stay until breakfast. Great fresh fruit but the cooked breakfast was way below standard. Horrible cheap sausage and a stale bread bun. My wife ordered eggs Benedict which came with bacon instead of ham and was served on bread buns. Horrible. What a shame that something so simple could be done so badly. Overall a nice stay but would we rush back?

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    184
    83
    50
    23
See reviews for
115
351
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We came to Beamish Hall Hotel for the day- we completed the High Ropes course at Beamish Wild followed by the afternoon tea package at the hotel - there was 20 of us and it was a truly enjoyable experience from start to finish!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon after getting married. We got a good deal which included a two night stay, breakfast both mornings and a three course evening meal with bottle of wine on one night. We upgraded the room to one with a four poster bed and a double jacuzzi which was just superb and I would highly recommend upgrading if your budget will stretch. The room was beautiful, the views superb and the jacuzzi tub was amazing! The breakfast each morning was brilliant and the meal in the pub was lovely also. The highlight for us however was afternoon tea which we paid extra for as a treat. It was absolutely beautiful and so filling we didn't eat again until breakfast the next morning! The staff in the hotel were delightful throughout our visit. I would definitely return and hope to have another afternoon tea there next time we are in the area!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Having booked a room based around a bonfire evening and fire works display back in august on there own website,we were horrified to find out 2days before our stay that actually they had changed it from the saturday night to the sunday.At no point were we contacted via email or phone to make us aware off there change of night,the whole reason we were going to beamish hall in the first place was to celebrate my sons 5th birthday as his birthday is on the 5th of november.After speaking to a few different people we eventually got through to a lady called kerrie who couldnt of done more to apologise and try to sort this problem,of which we were offered a free meal in the stables and free tickets to the fire works display at beamish museum.Once we arrived at reception we had to explain to the girls what had happend all over again as they didnt no anything about what had happend.Only highlight of our short stay was the meal of which was top quality food,we never got to the fire works display as the taxi to take us there turned up 30mins late,my little boy was devastated as the whole reason for going there in first place was for him.Then when we checked out we were told that there was a balance still to pay on our meal for extras that was ordered,even though we were told different,we have stayed at beamish hall many times before and have never had any issues so a dont no how they got it so wrong this time,my partner was considering booking our wedding here up until this happend!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a real gem!! Hidden away down a country lane behind the Beamish Open Air Museum, a well restored Victorian hotel which exudes class but has been adpated to the needs of it's current clientele. Excellent room, very warm for late October, with a superb en-suite (we were upgraded automatically from a classic room). A real nugget is the on-site brewery, bar and restaurant at the rear of the hotel. As real ale lovers, this was a real bonus with an excellent selection of real ales, all locally brewed. Our favourite was Silver Buckles, which we were lead to beleive was thier best seller. The ambience in the bar was great, food was really good and the service was fantastic - special mention to our server on the first night Lindsay and the second night Chad. They were excellent. Overall a great location and as a party of 4 couples, we wouldn't hesitate in coming back again.

Room Tip: Ask a free upgrade - we had 4 rooms and all were upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is now the 3rd day in a row that I've tried to book a room with the hotel for my nephew's wedding coming up in Aug 2014. Each time I have given the wedding reference, each time I've been told they were very busy and someone would ring me back, I'm still waiting ! It doesn't bode well for (a) most importantly, for the wedding and (b) me getting a room to attend the wedding. They need to change their hold message which says "for your dream wedding" ... !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

From walking through the doors to check in to checking out, everything was a pleasure. Room was great with plenty of space, bathroom(no bath) was small but everything perfect. The Stables bar for our evening meal was great, staff friendly and efficient, the menu had plenty of choice and all very reasonably priced. Breakfast was served in the Eden room which has great views of the trees round the Hall. We enjoyed the food so much we came back for lunch on our last day after a run to Durham. We will be returning next year sometime.

Room Tip: If you don't like 7ft fixed showers ask for a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Address: just off the A1, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.