We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitterly disappointing stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   just off the A1, Beamish DH9 0YB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bitterly disappointing stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from one night on Secret Escapes deal (£70.00 for room with breakfast) we thought this was very good value having stayed twice before - I did phone before going to price an upgrade and was told it would be another £100 on top so we decided it could not possibly be worth paying the extra - little did we know we were given Room 001 - avoid it like the plague - first it was tiny and I was bitterly disappointed on first sight but we decided to make the most and go for a drink - on return my husband just sat on the edge of the bed and it creaked for England - the mattress was extremely thin and pillows very inferior quality for 4 star hotel - there was a heater on my side of the bed which nearly burnt me each time I had to squash past so had to swap sides with my husband - as we had been there a couple of hours we decided not to complain and make the most - well we wish we had yes the bed frames are antique but surely some kind of maintenance could be done on them - you could not even turn over without creaking and groaning from it so romance was out of the question - we had decided that a cheap deal means inferior rooms they could not otherwise sell - but on looking tonite there are still many room in this price range so I really wish we had complained big time - a bitterly disappointing visit on this occasion.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    181
    81
    50
    23
See reviews for
115
346
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockye2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed there during a buisness trip this week. The hotel itself is very nice in impressive grounds. I was given a first floor room somewhere near the middle of the building which ended up being a bit of a treck up and down stairs and through corridors!

The room was huge, with a good level of decor and furniture etc. Plenty of teas, coffees, milks etc with the kettle and a decent iron and ironing board in the wardrobe (which is always good if you have shirts that look like mine when they come out of a suitcase).

Went to the stables bar for dinner and a drink which was excellent!

The only couple of things i would mention is that the bed was too soft for my liking and the heating got a bit noisy in the night but other from that, no worries!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have eaten here several times and food has always been very good and well-priced. The set menu is great value although (understandably) the a la carte menu is better quality. Have also had a Sunday lunch here and it was far better than standard pub grub. There is also a good selection of real ales and ciders from the attached micro-brewery.

Only complaint would be that the drinks ordered by the table next to us were added to our bill; an issue a friend has also experienced when dining at the Stables. This was instantly rectified but the waitress did not apologise for this. The fact that the staff made a mistake and then did not feel any responsibility to say sorry left us feeling rather offended. However, it would not deter us from visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my sons wedding day. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The staff were attentive and very friendly joining in the fun with the guests. The wedding ceremony was beautiful and the wedding breakfast aferwards was outstanding. The food and service excellent. Everyhing was re arranged quickly for the evening celebration. And again the food was first class. The accommodation and breakfast could not be faulted. It was great having everything in the one place with no worries about transport. I would highly recommend the hotel for a memerable and special wedding.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at a little extra cost. Room 4 has a huge bathroom with walk in shower and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Beamish Hall and although the hotel and location are lovely some things were disappointing. The visit was booked for a birthday surprise for my husband and I emailed the hotel in advance to request a room with a good view - what we got was a ground floor room with a view of the car park! Not the best start.

The room itself although not spacious was spotlessly clean but I have to agree with Captain Amnesia_248's comments. My husband is also 6 ft tall and struggled with the bed length, bathroom door and shower height so if you are tall -beware.

However it was the noise which spoiled our stay the most. The floorboards creaked which in an old building is to be expected but what we didnt expect was being kept awake most of the night by the racket from other guests in the corridors, the surrounding rooms and above. In particular we did not appreciate the bedroom antics from the couple in the room above us - not very conducive to a restful nights sleep! Perhaps the hotel should hand out ear plugs to guests on arrival....... When we complained the next day the receptionist simply said 'oh yes that's happened to me before and its awful isnt it?' and that was that. Whilst I appreciate that this is something outside their control I felt they could have handled it better.

The breakfast choices were more than ample and the service was efficient and friendly.

We had a short tour of the micro brewery and then dinner in the Stables which I had pre-booked as part of the package and we really enjoyed. The staff there were very friendly and helpful both in the bar and the restaurant. We especially liked the cosy bar area where you could sit and relax beside the wood burner and for the summer there is a nice area outside to sit and enjoy a drink.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and would return but would ask for a high floor and maybe take ear plugs just in case!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you dont have to listen to the people above you walking about (or anything e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our 6th visit to the hall and every time I leave a little more disappointed.

We have booked our Christmas party in a private dining room for 5 years and whilst the event cannot be faulted it's all the little niggles that spoil it.

When we first started using Beamish the accommodation was always fantastic; large rooms, large bathrooms and fantastic views. However, contrast that with this years room supposedly of the same standard. The bed was too short for my husband to lie fully stretched out in, at 6' 2" I would hardly call him a freak of nature but every bed in the hotel (and we've stayed in 6 different rooms) has a footboard on. We did ask reception about this and were told the furniture in the hotel was antique and unfortunately all the beds were like this. The door into the bathroom was under 6 feet in height so he had to duck every time he used it. The shower was over the bath so again he couldn't stand up full height in the shower.

Another thing we have noticed is that the first few years we were there after our party was over and we were asked to vacate the room for the staff to set up for a wedding the following day, we were asked to retire to the residents lounge where we could order another drink or two while we chatted into the wee small hours. However, we haven't been able to order another drink for a few years now with reception citing a lack of staff and this year we were asked to sit the foyer which was cold and lacking in atmosphere.

This is a four star hotel and I would have expected a better standard.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I booked a night away at Beamish Hall Hotel for a bit of relaxing and romance. Neither was had. The rooms have paper thin walls - we got to listen to our next door neighbours and above neighbours enjoy their romantic weekend; not to mention the Corrie omnibus we could hear through the walls on Saturday morning.... ugh. On top of this, we ventured to the much acclaimed "Stables" restaurant where we were left waiting for half an hour, then finally shown to our table as we were about to give up, to then wait a further 45 mintues and still not get our food. Read the other reviews and take heed: It is overrated and over-priced. We wish we'd gone to a pub down the road where at least you are served!!!
Overall, extremely disappointing and just glad we didn't pay full price. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Possibly one on the top floor so you don't feel like giants are parading above you all night? On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Address: just off the A1, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.