We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place shame about the noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   just off the A1, Beamish DH9 0YB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Sunderland, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place shame about the noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Beamish Hall and although the hotel and location are lovely some things were disappointing. The visit was booked for a birthday surprise for my husband and I emailed the hotel in advance to request a room with a good view - what we got was a ground floor room with a view of the car park! Not the best start.

The room itself although not spacious was spotlessly clean but I have to agree with Captain Amnesia_248's comments. My husband is also 6 ft tall and struggled with the bed length, bathroom door and shower height so if you are tall -beware.

However it was the noise which spoiled our stay the most. The floorboards creaked which in an old building is to be expected but what we didnt expect was being kept awake most of the night by the racket from other guests in the corridors, the surrounding rooms and above. In particular we did not appreciate the bedroom antics from the couple in the room above us - not very conducive to a restful nights sleep! Perhaps the hotel should hand out ear plugs to guests on arrival....... When we complained the next day the receptionist simply said 'oh yes that's happened to me before and its awful isnt it?' and that was that. Whilst I appreciate that this is something outside their control I felt they could have handled it better.

The breakfast choices were more than ample and the service was efficient and friendly.

We had a short tour of the micro brewery and then dinner in the Stables which I had pre-booked as part of the package and we really enjoyed. The staff there were very friendly and helpful both in the bar and the restaurant. We especially liked the cosy bar area where you could sit and relax beside the wood burner and for the summer there is a nice area outside to sit and enjoy a drink.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and would return but would ask for a high floor and maybe take ear plugs just in case!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you dont have to listen to the people above you walking about (or anything e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    183
    83
    50
    23
See reviews for
115
350
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our 6th visit to the hall and every time I leave a little more disappointed.

We have booked our Christmas party in a private dining room for 5 years and whilst the event cannot be faulted it's all the little niggles that spoil it.

When we first started using Beamish the accommodation was always fantastic; large rooms, large bathrooms and fantastic views. However, contrast that with this years room supposedly of the same standard. The bed was too short for my husband to lie fully stretched out in, at 6' 2" I would hardly call him a freak of nature but every bed in the hotel (and we've stayed in 6 different rooms) has a footboard on. We did ask reception about this and were told the furniture in the hotel was antique and unfortunately all the beds were like this. The door into the bathroom was under 6 feet in height so he had to duck every time he used it. The shower was over the bath so again he couldn't stand up full height in the shower.

Another thing we have noticed is that the first few years we were there after our party was over and we were asked to vacate the room for the staff to set up for a wedding the following day, we were asked to retire to the residents lounge where we could order another drink or two while we chatted into the wee small hours. However, we haven't been able to order another drink for a few years now with reception citing a lack of staff and this year we were asked to sit the foyer which was cold and lacking in atmosphere.

This is a four star hotel and I would have expected a better standard.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I booked a night away at Beamish Hall Hotel for a bit of relaxing and romance. Neither was had. The rooms have paper thin walls - we got to listen to our next door neighbours and above neighbours enjoy their romantic weekend; not to mention the Corrie omnibus we could hear through the walls on Saturday morning.... ugh. On top of this, we ventured to the much acclaimed "Stables" restaurant where we were left waiting for half an hour, then finally shown to our table as we were about to give up, to then wait a further 45 mintues and still not get our food. Read the other reviews and take heed: It is overrated and over-priced. We wish we'd gone to a pub down the road where at least you are served!!!
Overall, extremely disappointing and just glad we didn't pay full price. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Possibly one on the top floor so you don't feel like giants are parading above you all night? On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH SHIELDS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a fantastic hotel the setting is fabulous, the wedding and wedding feast brilliant and the staff exceptional. The room we had was great with a jaccusi bath in it and marvelous views from the widows. The breakfast menu made you wish you could eat more but I couldn't manage the full breakfast. Brilliant Stay can't wait to go back.
No pool or gym but didn't go for that, close to Beamish Museum and other attractions. Olny Bad point if you dont know the area is tom tom can't find it but gets you close and it's well sign posted

Room Tip: Any room will do. we had a delux one which was faultles but a standard room at £60 for 2 including b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Beamish Hall Hotel in November 2012 for a Murder Mystery evening. We really enjoyed our stay, the room and bathroom were huge, immaculately clean and decorated in keeping with the style of the hotel. We liked the quirky layout of the hotel, however can understand how this may not suit people with accessibility problems.

The Murder Mystery itself was very entertaining and the meal included was delicious, portions were much larger than I expected. Breakfast again was first class.

I think the only slight negative that we had was that you weren’t able to get the ales that were available at the Stables pub in the hotel and we think they are missing a trick on that score.
We didn’t visit any of the attractions such as Beamish Museum or Beamish Wild but we have been to both of these and are well worth the visit.

We would definitely return and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went with a friend for a light lunch New Years Eve. We actually intended to try the Blue Spider, a new restaurant also at Beamish, but as it was empty we decided to go down to The Stables instead. This was only the fourth time I had eaten there since it opened a few years ago, as it is only about 2 miles from my home I guess I wasn't particularly impressed before. However this time it was much better. The place itself was warm and cosy, so felt welcoming on a cold winter's day and the atmosphere was 'buzzy' with mainly family groups, I expect it is a different crowd on an evening. The menu was shortish but more than adequate for lunchtime and we both enjoyed our food. Service was swift, this is something that I recall was very poor last time, though I still felt that the staff seemed a little inexperienced. The only gripe that I have is that you have to go outside of the building to access the toilets, which are up an exterior stair case. Not nice when it's cold. A design fault I would say.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from the Beamish Hall Hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room for a 'winter special' 2 night break with breakfast included. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpfull. The room was a delight as was the breakfast each morning (waitress service, cerials, fruit juice, fresh fruit, croissants and full english cooked breakfast. Tea, coffee and toast) The grounds ( 25 acres) were snow covered so we did'nt get a chance to appreciate the walks and cycle routes on offer to residents. Beamish Outdoor Museum is just down the road. We enjoyed a meal in the Stables Restaurant which was good and not expensive. I have read reviews that some people were not happy with the food presented to them, but this was not our experience. A good base for different attractions around the area and for shopping trips to the Metro Centre or Newcastle. Would highly recommend this Best Western hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 110. No problems with noise at all from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

Address: just off the A1, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.