We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The stables beamish

The stables beamish
Beamish, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Beamish
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The restaurant, is a refurbished stable block, which is beautifully presented, and offers a warm and friendly, laid back atmosphere in which to relax and enjoy the good food and beverages on offer.
The menu is varied with dish of the day options, i would not rate it as a fine dining eaterie but a good wholesome country pub meal option.
The food was well presented and in plentiful supply, and very tasty.
A dining choice i would heartily recommend, for all, from couples wanting a romantic evening to a family outing choice it caters for all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    35
    28
    17
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dreams Beach Resort
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had the Braised steak, mash and parsnips mmmm it was lovley my friend had the cumberland sausage and mash which so enjoyed good quality food

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family night. Good food and attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

3 generations of our family ate here on a Saturday night. The two children enjoyed an hour in the adventure playground before we all ate inside. The food was really good and the service was exceptional. All in all great for a family meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Went here after an afternoon at the museum. There was a bbq and live music outside. We went in the restaurant. I had fish and chips followed by chocolate tart. Both were lovely. My friends had braised steak, and vegetable moussaka which they both enjoyed. The restaurant has a lot of character. The service is good as is the value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanley
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“could do better on the portion side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

visited here for sat lunch, husband had fish and chips which he enjoyed, food was hot and a good portion, I chose Caesar salad which was very tasty, however the portion size was very poor for the money at 10 pound, the smaller size was 6 pound 95, so you can imagine how small it would be. We will not be going back, we want tasty food but it must be good value aswell, The service was good, there was plenty of staff , in fact more staff than what there was customers in the restaurant. In the courtyard there was a live singer,and tables were starting to fill up, there was also a chef cooking beef burgers around that area, and an outside bar aswell,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The stables beamish also viewed

Beamish, County Durham
Beamish, County Durham
 
Stanley, County Durham
Stanley, County Durham
 

Been to The stables beamish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The stables beamish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.