We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit after 20 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beamish Open Air Museum

Beamish Open Air Museum
Beamish DH9 0RG, England
+44 191 370 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Beamish
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Return visit after 20 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I last visited with me young family 20 years ago. The place is still amazing, with a lot more additions to the museum, the Fish & Chip shop being one of them. A bakery is also in the process of being completed. All the staff were so enthusiastic, it was a pleasure to visit. So much to see, we did it over 2 days

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,627
    466
    81
    32
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beamish - Fascinating Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Some argue that this is an attraction for kids... NO, it is a step back in time for me and an eye-opener for my American born wife. The Museum effectively recreates a Small rural town during significant periods over the past 150 years - not just passively but in actually functioning.

We went on a February day when it was bitterly cold & we'd had quite a bit of snow overnight. We'd bought our tickets in advance to avoid the queues, however the snow did that for us - the website told us they were delaying opening for an hour to clear the paths & make it safe.... they did a good job. When we got there, although a Saturday in the school ½-term... it was almost empty, so we loved that as we don't like crowds.

So, my time is limited for this review but I would say that the busses & trams mean that transport for the elderly is OK, though wheelchairs might be restricted..... there wasn't a great deal of accessibility in 1860; though the site is quite good (though not the mine). Kids will love the sweet-shop, adults will love the parts that tie in with their jobs. Going into the mine was excellent.

Best Bits: Good food, good loos, interesting. The staff were FABULOUS and really wanted to make our day (one poor guy... we were his first customers at 3:15pm because of the cold!)

Weaknesses.... maybe too much to try and "do" it all in a day. In the snow the picnic tables are not much use!

Tips: Buy a ticket on the web. Take a flask of hot tea.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent museum, been many times over the years. Great for all ages, love the old sweet shop and pub. I'm long overdue another visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very interesting with good staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited on Mother's Day but there did not seem to be any celebrations. However it was also snowing! The site is so huge that it is not really suitable for bad weather although there are buses and trams. We cut short our visit because of the weather but really enjoyed the parts that we saw. The staff were very impressive and we were assured that there were no traces of pit pony in the meat pies!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Uk
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ok, better if you have kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a very cose attraction to me. This was the p,ace we always used to go on school trips, and it seemed amazing back them, but as an adult, without kids, it isn't as amazing - but still a good way to spend a day.

They have a tram, farm, coal mins and other old fashioned buildings (schools, shops etc). The sweet shop is awesome,

I did really enjoy walking into a mine and learning about the conditions there, and it's actually quite harrowing hearing how many people died in the mines, and accidents that happened in mines in the north east. It was interesting, but that was the only real highlight for me.

The day we want the weather was not that great, that probably didnt help the experience. It was cold and rained a bit. On a sunny day you could take a picnic and sit on the grass, that would be lovely.

The ticket price for 1 day is the same rice as 1 year, so obviously take the year and you can go back as many times as you like. I should go back in nicer weather and reaLy take advantage of it there, and maybe my review will be a bit better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beamish Open Air Museum also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Beamish Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beamish Open Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.